1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Looking for some old knowledge

Discussion in 'Construction Equipment Attachments' started by TripitakaBC, Jul 2, 2020.

  1. TripitakaBC

    TripitakaBC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Kootenays, BC
    I recently acquired an excavator hammer but have very little experience with them. It is unbadged and will charge (raise up) when activated but will not cycle (bounce the hammer).

    I figure I need to get some manufacturer info but to do that, I need to figure out the manufacturer. Any ideas?

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    DMiller likes this.
  2. sled dog

    sled dog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Hartdford City, In.
    Cant help you with brand, but sounds like it's low on nitrogen in the accumulator
     
    lantraxco, DMiller and Tones like this.
  3. TripitakaBC

    TripitakaBC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Kootenays, BC
    Yeah, I wondered the same thing. I got the one guy in my local area that services all the logging equipment to take a look at it but the net result was him telling me I needed to get more info on the unit.
    I'm thinking it may be NPR. It is probably one of those items that someone looks at says "I've got one of those in my yard..."
     
  4. Txhayseed

    Txhayseed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2019
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Texas
    It looks like an older NPK
     
    DMiller likes this.
  5. TripitakaBC

    TripitakaBC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Kootenays, BC
    Yeah, I thought the same but NPK have confirmed that it isn't one of theirs. Thanks for the comment though, I still haven't found what it actually is.
     
  6. gwhammy

    gwhammy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    missouri
    you are running the hydraulics the right way?
     
    Mother Deuce likes this.
  7. TripitakaBC

    TripitakaBC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Kootenays, BC
    I believe so. I'm no expert but I have auxiliary lines with matching connectors and I made sure that the lines flow by bleeding the existing fluid from the unit before I connected the circuit loop on one side (I connected the flow side and then bled the fluid into a bucket until is was clear). I may be missing something but I don't know what which is why I'm trying to ID the unit. I think that the most likely cause is the accumulator but without an ID on the unit to get more info, I'm pretty hooped.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  8. Tones

    Tones Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,621
    Occupation:
    Ex land clearing contractor, part-time retired
    Location:
    Ubique
    Swap the hoses a see what it does. Unless the internals are buggered it should work. A changed accumulator gives it the punch. I have seen plenty of breakers run with near zero gas pressure, kind like May going West, all bust and no dust.
     
  9. TripitakaBC

    TripitakaBC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Kootenays, BC
    It is probably also way too big for the CAT 305 that I'm trying to run it on but I chatted with a couple of guys that know way more than me and their view was that there is no reason it shouldn't work but it will run with less power and slower than it would on a 200 or 300 series. I only need it to punch pilot holes for fence posts in rocky ground and then pound the posts into the holes so I'm thinking it should at least manage that.

    I'll try switching the hoses but wouldn't the same thing be achieved using the thumb button that activates it? The auxilliary circuit is hooked up to the excavator thumb control and the rocker on the joystick opens and closes the thumb which I assume is the same as reversing the flow as is being suggested here.

    It's equally likely that I have no idea what I'm talking about... :-D
     
    westerner and DMiller like this.
  10. brianbulldozer

    brianbulldozer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    W. Washinton, USA
    I believe the return oil from the breaker should return to the tank and not pass through the thumb control valve. This might be part of the reason it is not operating.
     
  11. Tones

    Tones Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,621
    Occupation:
    Ex land clearing contractor, part-time retired
    Location:
    Ubique
    100% correct. There shouldn't be any return line pressure but have to establish which is the feed and return on the breaker. The easiest way is to run it and it doesn't work then swap the lines over and have another go
     
    skyking1 and DMiller like this.
  12. gwhammy

    gwhammy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    missouri
    On the ones I've had if you hit the hydraulics backwards it just shoves the stinger out and doesn't hammer. You are right reverse the toggle it will change directions of flow.
     
    Mother Deuce and DMiller like this.
  13. skyking1

    skyking1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    Messages:
    687
    Location:
    washington
    have you switched the selector from thumb to breaker mode?
    Nobody asked, so I figure what's the harm?
     
    Mother Deuce and Tones like this.
  14. RTSmith

    RTSmith Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    394
    Occupation:
    Amateur demolition & dirt pusher
    Location:
    Middle Tenn.
    Yes- like he said. On my 307 & 310 there is a handle somewhere towards the base of the boom that rotates 90 degrees. I was told 1 direction is for 2 way flow likew a thumb, the other position is 1 way flow like a hammer. Like Sky says, just a thought.
     
  15. skyking1

    skyking1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    Messages:
    687
    Location:
    washington
    On the JohnnyHitachi it's right underneath the step where you get to the operator station.
     
  16. KSSS

    KSSS Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,281
    Occupation:
    excavation
    Location:
    Idaho
    Yea that appears to be way too much hammer for that mini ex. Assuming the hyd. are hooked up correct and you have the valving set for single direction. I would mention that years ago I had bought an ESCO hammer at a RB sale It was a 1500 pound hammer that required like 30 gpm of flow to run it. I used it on a 95XT with high flow to break lava rock. Not before or since I have seen a hammer that required so much flow, perhaps this hammer requires similar flow.
     
  17. Jbullfrog

    Jbullfrog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Avoca, Iowa
    It looks like my Stanley MB250, only bigger. Stanley was a primary manufacturer in the 90ies On mine, with the hoses facing you, the left line is pressure and right line is return. They will raise with the lines reversed, but won't hit. Stanley breakers have 3 nitrogen chambers, the top, the front, and an accumulator that takes the shock to the machine. Yours has the same ports and riveted pressure tag as mine. Measure the diameter of the point and call Stanley or a Case dealer.