• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

locates not proper and hit gas line

robchetry69

Hello all...

I am a home builder and was doing digging with excavator...I had locates done and where I was digging there were no markings..

Anyway..we hit a gas main and the utilities company are saying I am responsible. .

Do I have any ground to stand on?
There are saying I'm responsible for $16000 ..

I am in Toronto Canada if that makes any difference. .

Thanks

390eric

Not sure the regulations in your area but I work for the gas company. It's 18 inches on either side of the mark so 3 ft total We never give depths but just a location. Anything outside that 3 ft it's on us. Unless you didn't have the area marked to be one called. But you say you did.

lantraxco

If you had the locates done and the area you were digging in was within the lot lines or boundaries, I would say fight it. Of course they'll try to charge you for it, doesn't mean they didn't screw the pooch and are trying to cover it up. Good luck.

Thirty years ago I worked for an outfit that was doing some work on a golf course, no utilities, said so in the bid sheets. Oh, except there's a 6" stainless line buried and the brush has grown over the marker signs. Super in the excavator decided to pothole a spot to bury some concrete he took out, dented the top of that line... carrying jet fuel from a tank farm on the river over to the supply tanks at the airport. There was some excitement. Would have been a lot more if he'd actually cracked the line. Mistakes happen.

CM1995

Administrator
Occupation
Running what I brung and taking what I win