• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Komatsu D65e-6 overheat

jasonharville

I've been having some issues with my D65e-6 gradually overheating after about 2 hours of use. I have started troubleshooting based on engine/dozer service manuals but hoping to get some additional advice here. Here are the areas I've been focusing on:
  • Low Fluids - I have been carefully watching coolant/fluid levels...hasn't been a factor.
  • Stalling Torque Converter Excessively - I'm new to dozer operation and I realized I may have been stalling the torque converter too often when hitting large stumps. I think I have ruled this cause out as last time it overheated I was being "gentle" on her.
  • Slipping Fan Belt - Belt appears to be properly tensioned and haven't noticed any lack of air flow.
  • Dirty/Clogged Radiator - I noticed an inability to see through the radiator so I started pressure washing it yesterday. An hour later I was still getting muddy water from it but I think I finally got it clean.
  • Failed Thermostat - Ordered a new thermostat as the housing doesn't look to have been touched in a long while.
I'm hoping the heavily clogged radiator is my main issue, but any other areas I should be checking?