1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

John deere 4039d engine issue

Discussion in 'Forklifts/Telehandlers' started by pajibson, Feb 21, 2020.

  1. pajibson

    pajibson Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    metro detroit
    This engine is in a square shooter SS636. Put a genuine john deere reman engine in with new injectors and i get zero throttle response. But if you grab the joystick & put a load on the engine the injection pump will rev it up to keep the idle rpm.
    Pinned the engine @ tdc and verified pump timing. Installed new lift pump. Had the injection pump rebuilt at a reputable shop and same problem. I have 3.5psi coming out of the lift pump. Took the pump & injectors back out and took them back to pump shop. I watched them run it through the test procedures on bosch test machine.
    So at this point I'm wondering what else could be causing this. Anybody have any ideas?
     
  2. MarshallPowerGen

    MarshallPowerGen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    141
    Occupation:
    Diesel & Generator Mechanic
    Location:
    Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
    So if you move the throttle linkage at the engine, you get no response?

    Air/fuel filters new? Any smoke? Have you monitored for any drop in lift pump fuel pressure with engine loaded?
     
    mg2361 likes this.
  3. pajibson

    pajibson Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    metro detroit
    Correct. Move the throttle linkage and get no response at all from the engine.
    All new filters. I did not look @ lift pump pressure when i tried loading the engine. There was some smoke but i was running this @ night under LED work lights so i couldnt really tell you color or volume well enough to speak to it.
    Fuel shop told me to try running off a separate supply and route the return into a separate container too. They were thinking maybe a volume problem or restricted return.
     
  4. tractormech

    tractormech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    florida
    Go to the right rear of the fuel tank and pull the fuel line off and it should have good fuel flow. If not unscrew the big hex nut fitting out-there's a screen on it and it can get stopped completely up. Have some buckets to catch fuel because it will really come out of the tank-it's like a ! inch pipe fitting going into the tank. If that isn't the issue and the fuel filter is the type that has the plastic nut that threads onto the filter base check it. I had one develop a small hairline crack that would suck air. I'll bet the screen is stopped up though.
     
    pajibson likes this.
  5. Delmer

    Delmer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5,908
    Location:
    WI
    Rag in the intake manifold? check the fuel pressure running first...
     
    pajibson likes this.
  6. Vetech63

    Vetech63 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,106
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Makes no sense unless your engine is at full load already and incapable of more. Something is getting missed.
     
    pajibson, Delmer and mg2361 like this.
  7. DB2

    DB2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    434
    Location:
    Winnipeg MB Canada
    Pumpguy where are you ?
     
    pajibson likes this.
  8. mg2361

    mg2361 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,410
    Occupation:
    Equipment Mechanic/Technician
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    How about an engine serial number?
     
    Vetech63 likes this.
  9. Delmer

    Delmer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5,908
    Location:
    WI
    Or an injection pump model, even picture. And what happened to the old engine?
     
    mg2361 likes this.
  10. pajibson

    pajibson Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    metro detroit
    Sorry, I clearly forgot some details I did mean to include. thats what I get for trying to hurry old engine serial # is T04039D474697 new # is SE4039D792263. Pump is a stanadyne DB2 #2435-4972.
    Old engine had ridiculous amounts of blow-by and was just slobbering out the draft tube. would barely run.
    Vetech I think you're absolutely right something is getting missed. I just cant figure out what. I don't think the engine is already running at full fuel (load) because when I grab the joystick and give it a little bit of a load it does respond. just not with the throttle.
    tractormech thanks for the tip on the pick up screen. I will check that too.
    I appreciate all the help guys and I will follow up once I get this back together and retest. If anybody comes up with anything else I am open to more suggestions.
     
  11. thepumpguysc

    thepumpguysc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5,269
    Occupation:
    Master Inj.Pump rebuilder
    Location:
    Sunny South Carolina
    My guess is restricted return..
    I woulda told u the same thing..
    Run it from a 1 gallon jug(oil) of fuel & run the return into same jug..
    Good luck
     
    pajibson and DB2 like this.
  12. mg2361

    mg2361 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,410
    Occupation:
    Equipment Mechanic/Technician
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    A check of the fuel supply pump pressure would be in order. I'll bet you will see a vacuum.
     
  13. Txhayseed

    Txhayseed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2019
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Texas
    Are you sure you dont have a load on the unit when your starting and running and once you stroke a control you change the swash plate and that allows your engine to rev up since you dont have a parasitic load of a hydraulic pump ?
     
  14. pajibson

    pajibson Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    metro detroit
    okay here is the follow up. got the pump and injectors reinstalled. We ran it from a separate fuel supply and the return into a separate jug, No change. had plenty of fuel returning from the injection pump into the jug. had black smoke from the exhaust like it was under a load. I guess our next step is going to be to pull the coupler shaft to the hydraulic pump and try again. I'll follow up again later. Thanks again folks
     
    MarshallPowerGen likes this.