1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

JLG 600s Basket does not swing right to left

Discussion in 'Forklifts/Telehandlers' started by PORTERFILMZ, Feb 4, 2016.

  1. PORTERFILMZ

    PORTERFILMZ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Hello people I am working on 2 JLG 600s at the moment.

    One has all necessary functions besides that the basket only does not swing, like move right to left. I have no basket swing function on platform as well as ground control. I can see the hoses moving when I'm on the ground under the hood on the DCV. The DCV is electronic I nothice as well It sounds like it's deadheading instantly.

    Both of these machines also do not have power at the 110 outlets on the platforms as wel. And only one has the kicks the generator on with the switch right next to the outlets as well. One of them is actually missing the a/c analog box under the left side hood.

    This thing is a mess, I have schematic but don't really know where to start. I can tell there's been another mechanic on this. It's a rats nest.
     
  2. barklee

    barklee Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    ohio
    If im not mistaken there is a bleeder on the swing motor, i think its on the face of the swing nearest the basket. They can get air in them and not work. Can you free spin it at all if you try to move the basket by hand? If so, thats a good sign.
     
  3. PORTERFILMZ

    PORTERFILMZ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    An update. Got back from lunch and busted out my volt meter. I tested 3 switches on the platform that we're not functioning. The ground control functions work fine. I have no telescope function, no swing left to right and no "level" motion from the platform. Sometimes the thing won't even start from the platform. I tested voltage at the 3 switches on the platform. I got about 10volts on 2 red wires and 1 yellow on one side and the other sides of the connector are 3 grey wires in which I test voltage for and received voltage when clicking the switch forward and backwards. Seems normal. I also switched out a switch from another lift we have here for kicks and giggles. Looks like the problem isn't at the switch but at the return side to the DCV. These schematics they give in the manuals are like the finest print. I need a simple explanation on how this circuit works.
     
  4. PORTERFILMZ

    PORTERFILMZ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Update. I am truly lost when it comes to this one. I tested a few more things. Let's just talk about the platform swing circuit. It has 2 grey wires for ground a I believe. I tested power at the switch and out of the switch - good. Coming out of th switch on the ground side is going to be 2 grey wires. I also tested power out of the connector underneath the platform box... Good. I believe these grey wires (23/24) go to orange/blue & red / blue (18/19) right at that outside platform connector. I don't seem to see where power then goes from here and don't know where to test for the loss of voltage. At the DCV I see the platform swing valve. I see grey/black wires going into that but I believe those are coming from the ground control box and not the platform control box. Someone help me pinpoint this !
     
  5. barklee

    barklee Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    ohio
    You had said you see the hoses moving when you engage the switch for the swing correct? I really cant help with the wiring other than send you a manual which you already have. I dont have any 60s at the shop right now to compare notes with so im of no help there. Did you try to remove a hose off the swing motor and see if you are getting oil coming out? At least you can eliminate the hydraulic side of this at that point. Because if im understanding your post correctly you are getting power in and out of the swing switch? Seems hydraulic in nature to me.
     
  6. PORTERFILMZ

    PORTERFILMZ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I'm getting power yes, however the ground control platform swing works, I notice it is very sluggish as well slow movement.
     
  7. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,416
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    I assume when you're talking about basket/platform swing left/right you're talking about platform rotate and not boom rotate, right?

    What's the machine serial number and what engine does it have?
     
  8. barklee

    barklee Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    ohio
    Maybe sounds like you are getting a voltage drop?? I know it sounds like it wouldnt do anything but if you operate the swing in combination with another function at the same time often it will speed the function of the sluggish function (acts to increase voltage).
    Im not a mechanic by any means and im sure others on here will have better answers but my mind comes back to the air in the swing motor. I have had this happen on three different machines now and it acts exactly like you say. Got the air bled and no more problems. I say this because you have power at the platform and limited movement at the ground. Either low voltage or air in the system or faulty swing motor. They are easy to damage.
     
  9. PORTERFILMZ

    PORTERFILMZ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    How do you bleed it ?
     
  10. barklee

    barklee Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    ohio
    There should be two plugs on one side one above the other. Have to bleed it out from there.
     
  11. PORTERFILMZ

    PORTERFILMZ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I will get serial # ASAP.

    I noticed when I start this machine the idle is high regardless of foot pedal position ? Could this be a problem. On my other 600 that works fine it has a low idle and when I depress the foot pedal it kicks up the idle.

    I found the wiring leading back to the lower control box from the basket and tested it. Seems to have voltage but I'm alone I can't stand down at the ground and stretch my arms to the platform to hit the switches to see if I'm getting voltage back at the ground box. I'm going to ask someone after lunch if they can help me. All ground controls work so I'm guessing hydraulically everything is intact. Just no swing,tilt,& telescope from the basket controls but I do have joystick controls from the basket.

    . 3 circuits. All gone bad at once. Seems strange. Must be something that runs or over looks all 3 circuits
     
  12. PORTERFILMZ

    PORTERFILMZ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Still haven't tried bleeding it. Where are the two plugs you are talking about on this machine ?
     
  13. PORTERFILMZ

    PORTERFILMZ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Serial # for this machine is

    104627-0300045656
     
  14. PORTERFILMZ

    PORTERFILMZ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I parked this thing today and lost complete controls from the platform. lol I had to have someone lower me down from ground control. This thing is a complete piece of caca now. I noticed before I lost control at the platform the movement was very slow. This thing has a mind of its own !
     
  15. barklee

    barklee Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    ohio
    Man! This thing sounds like one of my lifts!
    You gotta have something going on with the wiring somewhere. Did you really take a hard look at the power cables going through the cable track all the way from the basket to the lower controls? Maybe you have something rubbed through and grounding out possibly. Im not sure what to say being that you have a whole menagerie of issues now. I know it sounds crazy but when a battery gets low on these they do some crazy stuff..... usually not a JLG but it could be worth a try.
     
  16. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,416
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Or, one of the hardest to diagnose is worn out cables. Even though you don't see any external damage or faults with the cables running in the power track, those cables eventually fatigue from so many cycles of being bent by telescoping in/out, the wires eventually break inside the cables, just like a piece of tie wire, grab it with two hands and flex back and forth over and over and eventually the tie wire breaks, same thing.

    I can't say this is your problem, only saying it happens and it's something to consider, only way to verify is some methodic and time consuming test of voltage. BTW, if you do find it's a fault with the cables running down the boom, don't waste your money with ordinary SO or SJ cable, it won't last. The copper wires in SO and SJ cable isn't designed for constant flexing like you find with a boom lift, you're better off (long term money wise) getting replacement cable from JLG.
     
  17. PORTERFILMZ

    PORTERFILMZ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Tested power at the ground control box. Orange blue and red blue. 18&19 on the top side. Had a coworker stand on the platform and command the platform rotate switch. There was power at the ground control box at the 18 and switches off to 19 at the terminal on the ground box. I tested the little hole where you could insert a small screwdriver in to remove the clip that holds the wire in place.

    Seems like it's getting power down from the basket to the ground. I tore off the cover and took a look at the wires all the way up the main boom. If I'm getting voltage at the ground box at 18/19 terminals coming in to the box when having someone flip the switch left to right I'm assuming the power is good. However I did notice the battery keeps draining. I tested the alternator with the Diesel engine running. It's at 12.6 -12.1v. I know for a car you want a running charge of 13-14. Same for a diesel I'm sure ? Could the alternator be the problem. After I charged the battery I did have some basket controls back like up and down and machine swing left to right. And it wasn't as slow as it was yesterday right before I got trapped and had to have someone lower me down !
     
  18. PORTERFILMZ

    PORTERFILMZ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I think it's strange that this machine only has one idle as well. When I compare it to my other machine with everything working fine, I notice this machine has 3 different idles. When I first turn it on its quiet, when I engage a hydraulic function or press the foot pedal it idles up to about 1600 RPM I'd say then if I want to drive it it kicks up to 2500-3000 rpm. I've done reading where this is normal functioning. With my caca 600s that doesn't have all of its basket controls seems to have the idle set at 1500 rpm
     
  19. PORTERFILMZ

    PORTERFILMZ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    So apprearentlythis 600s with basket problems has been swapped out for a 3 cylinder motor. I just realized this. That this engine is a 3 cylinder and in the back corner of the year I can see a smaller JLG lift and I was just told it came out of that. Idk what this last mechanic did. This has been a rats nest from the start But could that be a potential reason why we don't have controls ? The fact that he swapped motors? I'm sure They would have different electrical set ups.
     
  20. PORTERFILMZ

    PORTERFILMZ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Tested running voltage on my good 600s and got 13.8v. Seems about right. I also took a look at the fuel control rod. It seems to be moving freely. When I go over to my bad 600 I noticed the fuel control rod(one with solenoid on top) moves rather rigidly, not as smoothly. I read that this rod controls idle and doesn't idle depend on and select ways to route hydraulic oil flow ?