1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

JLG 45ic won't move

Discussion in 'Other Construction/Demolition Equipment' started by Richard, Jan 22, 2010.

  1. Richard

    Richard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Hi Guys,

    I'm hoping with the vast amount of experience here in the forums, maybe you can give some tips on solving my problem cause I'm stumped.

    I have a JLG 45ic manlift. I went to use it the other day and it would not move. Everything else works perfectly but when I move the joystick to drive, nothing happens. The engine does not load up at all....just does nothing. Well, after a bunch of testing and studying my service manual, I found the test readings on the HorsePower control card were not correct. Included in the control box is a bypass connector to bypass the HP control card. So I unplugged the HP control card and plugged in the bypass connector and it worked! I thought.....plug in the HP card and it won't move, bypass the HP card and it moves....this has GOT to be the culprit! So I remove the card and sent it to Hindley Electronics for repair. After about a week, they send it back saying it only needed some minor adjustments but checked out fine. GREAT! I re-install the card back in my machine and it's no different than when I sent it in. Still won't move.....voltage readings on the card at idle and high speed are still the same as before. I unplug the card, connect the bypass, and it will move again.

    I'm stumped. I don't know what to check next. Any suggestions?

    Thanks,

    Richard
     
  2. barklee

    barklee Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    ohio
    Im not terribly familiar with these, is that card mounted on the side of or connected to the drive control? or in the control box on the basket? Reason i ask is that i have had no luck repairing the cards on jlg machines. I dont know why just never have. also what year is the machine?
     
  3. Richard

    Richard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Mississippi
    This card is mounted inside the control box in the basket. It's purpose is to keep the engine from stalling when driving over different grades by controlling the output to the control valves. It's a 1997 model with low hours.
     
  4. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,475
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    Are you saying it has an engine? I thought the 45IC was an electric lift, haven't seen one with an engine before. Have you checked that the HP board has a good ground?
     
  5. barklee

    barklee Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    ohio
    Is there any corrosion on the wiring or wire mounting blocks? U sure this isnt a 450 JLG? Reason i ask is if its a duel fuel machine there is a computer mounted near the engine about the size of a book that has pots on the side for HP adjustment (at least the one we had did) This contraption came out of adjustment constatly, we ended up replacing it and that finally fixed it. As atco said this must have a good ground and 12v (as i remember) under a load. also had one that two wires rubbed bare and made it do the same thing
     
  6. Richard

    Richard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Yes, it definitely has an engine. It's a 45ic and it is a dual-fuel machine. I does have a box with adjustable pots next to the engine but it's for adjusting the LOW, MID, and HIGH rpms. I don't think there's any corrosion. In fact, when you open the control box everything looks so pristine in there like it just left the factory. Not sure how I would check the ground on the card. The card is encased in epoxy and is mounted to one of the sidewalls inside the control box. From what I understand, this card monitors the RPM of the engine and when the RPM's drop, it lowers the voltage to the drive controller, which will lower the input to the drive control module, which will lower the output to the drive valves, which will decrease the load on the engine. When I disconnect the card and use the bypass plug, it just has a jumper wire that passes the voltage straight thru to the drive controller. I guess I could use it this way but I would have to be careful when driving not to stall the engine. Maybe it's not receiving an RPM signal from the engine?
     
  7. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,475
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN
    The box at the engine is the Precision Governor control box, just controls the carburetor. I wish I could help you more, but I can't find anything on a JLG 45IC with an engine, not even at the JLG website. Haven't worked on a JLG with a horsepower board either, not sure how they work that. If it does monitor engine speed, it could be from a crank or flywheel sensor and has bad sensor. Again, I don't know what affect a faulty sensor would have on a JLG HP board as I've not worked on them. Could also have a problem with your boom cable, the particular wire that sends info from speed sensor, up boom, to HP board. Can you send a pic of your machine? I'd like to see it. :)
     
  8. barklee

    barklee Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    ohio
    I have no life so i looked at the service manual on JLG website. I stand corrected they do come with a duel fuel engine. I was looking at the hp card and setup and noticed there is adjustment for this. Stupid question but have you tried that?
    http://csapps.jlg.com/OnlineManuals/browse.aspx?path=JLG/JLG Boom Lifts/40_45IC&title=PDF Manuals&refkey=http%3a%2f%2fwww.jlg.com%2fen-US%2fServices.html&link=
    Page 2-35
    Maybe this will help
     
  9. Richard

    Richard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Yeah the note on the bottom of page 2-34 says "Do not adjust horsepower card, this card is factory set" (course....that never stopped me before..LOL).
    Anyhow, the adjusting pots are sealed but when I sent it in to Hindley they removed the sealant and adjusted the card out to spec and re-sealed the pots.

    ATCO, I'll try and get you a pic.
     
  10. Richard

    Richard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Here's a pic I had from the jobsite showing the lift:
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Xcopterdoc

    Xcopterdoc Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    NC
    These were a very unpopular b*****d type that JLG made. I would contact JLG direct if you can and get the specifics. have the model number, serial number and so forth at hand. It was basically built on the same chassis as the 40 electric, but with a dual fuel IC engine. The 45 was a 40 z boom, tower lift, with a 5 ft jib. I'd be looking a faulty input from a drive controller.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  12. icewater75074

    icewater75074 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Occupation:
    Field Tech.VOLVO Equip.
    Location:
    Texas
    Is the drive controller powering up? If not have you verified proper foot switch function?
    Not sure about the wiring on this unit, but have you checked the limit switches as well as the angle switch? They can cause drive cut-out, but I am not sure how they tie in to this unit.
     
  13. Richard

    Richard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Yes, I have tested the boom limit/angle switches. Foot switch normal. When I bypass the HP card, everything works perfect (except I only have low range drive speed).
     
  14. Richard

    Richard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Sorry about double post (internet troubles). Please delete.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2010