• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

JD 450C

PNW1020D

Hey all.

Hope everyone is doing well with what is going on, etc.

With that being said, here is my equipment update. Not so much for my business plan, but for the family farm, and who knows really.

I have the chance to get this for free. I know free doesn't mean take it, but any knowledge or guidance would be greatly appreciated. Brutally honest, things to look for, and test? The holy internet say this thing weighs almost 18k? Is that true?

From my research, this is what I have heard about these old girls but I am no expert!!! Clearly... :)

1. Horrible to work on. Others have said smurfs must have built these at the factory due to their unfriendly working environments.
2.Transmission case cracks can happen due to their poor structural design.
3.Wet clutches. If glazed over it can be quite expensive and labor intensive to repair.
4. This is a "C" model, so it should have a standard clutch and mechanical transmission. I read about some "shift on the fly models" being troublesome and expensive to fix?
5. As I have shown, I have a 1020D with a 3 cylinder diesel, and this old thing has essentially the exact same motor, but a 4 cylinder. Same as the big big brother of my 1020D, the 4020, and I am sure many other john applications.

SAJ9wZ.jpg

qGB6zt.jpg

9crODP.jpg

hosspuller

At least the old girl :) doesn't have a zillion and one, sensors, connectors and wire harnesses :confused:to confuse and confound you. With a CPU or two along side o_O to humble and scorn you as well. :(

redneckracin

Occupation
Civil Engineer