• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

JCB Hydraulic Fluid 46 Equivalent?

cloves

Anyone have any recommendations on hydraulic fluids? Had to change a hose and lost fluid over the winter. Manual says JCB Hydraulic Fluid 46 wondering if I should just use and head to the dealer or find an equivalent? Dealer is over an hour away.

Nige

G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
Finding an ISO 46 hydraulic oil is not the issue. Need to be a bit careful here. I'm no JCB expert but the spec sheet says "low zinc technology". Some people call it "ashless" oil. https://parts.jcb.com/4002-0801t-jcb-hydraulic-fluid-high-performance-46-5ltr.html

Not a standard hydraulic oil at all, most hydraulic oils use zinc as part of the anti-wear additive package, usually around 500ppm.
Hitachi also use zinc-free/ashless hydraulic oil, and also 46 weight, known as HV46 IIRC.
The only ashless 46 hydraulic oil I've ever worked with is Conoco Ecoterra. Should be available in Canada, if not Petro-Canada probably have a similar product.

cloves

Finding an ISO 46 hydraulic oil is not the issue. Need to be a bit careful here. I'm no JCB expert but the spec sheet says "low zinc technology". Some people call it "ashless" oil. https://parts.jcb.com/4002-0801t-jcb-hydraulic-fluid-high-performance-46-5ltr.html

Not a standard hydraulic oil at all, most hydraulic oils use zinc as part of the anti-wear additive package, usually around 500ppm.
Hitachi also use zinc-free/ashless hydraulic oil, and also 46 weight, known as HV46 IIRC.