• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Is my trailer worthless? No GVWR info, attemting to get my cdl.

Aceofspades

I'm new to equipment and CDL trucks. I have a single axle dump truck, and a skid steer, and I'm working on getting my cdl right now. My father in law has an old, but good equipment trailer that he agreed to "sell" me.

I'm planning on getting my class A cdl in my truck. I've already done a good bit of driving with the help of a friend. I was going to use my fil's trailer to go take my skills test.

Here's my issue. The trailer has no markings on it whatsoever. No manufacture's name, no vin, no gvwr, no nothing. He bought it on an online auction from a county works department. We were able to find the info from the sale, and the previous owner didn't have any of this info either. The axles have no gvwr on them either. The axles do have model and serial number and I was able to reach out to the manufacturer (Dexter Axles) who emailed me the specs on the axle (each are 10k axles).

I got a vin number from my county's tag office. If I put that on and have an officer come and inspect the trailer, I can get a tag.

My problem is that, in preparation for my test, I went to speak with the people at the testing facility who said that I wouldn't be able to use the trailer without gvwr stamped on the trailer, or on the axles. I explained that I had the email from Dexter saying that the axles were 10k, (and showed them the email), and they said that wasn't good enough.

So my options are find another trailer to buy or rent (haven't been able to find one to rent that isn't gvrw under 10k)