1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

I HAVE SEVERAL QUESTIONS ABOUT A JCB 3CX

Discussion in 'Tractor/Loader/Backhoes' started by BOYDII, Sep 19, 2022 at 9:11 PM.

  1. BOYDII

    BOYDII New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2022
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    FLORIDA
    I just purchased a 2016 JCB 3CX machine and have several questions I'm hoping I can some straight answers to. I have contacted 2 local JCB dealers/repair shops I even paid for an in-field service call and got nothing but a bunch of BS run around...
    1. Where can I get, download or just read an operators manual or some sort of maintenance manual for the machine ( don't really want to spend hundreds of $$ to stop a flashing symbol) I have a flashing symbols and need to clear them/turn them off. I paid a JCB repairman to come scan and supposedly turn them off ( that didn't work... they are still flashing after a $400 service call) The symbols are for maintenance that needs performed, oil change ect... they have been done now I need to clear the notification.
    2. I need to replace plus purchase a couple of different backhoe buckets and I know that they are interchangeable between several different models. JCB telling me NO YOU HAVE TO HAVE ONE SPECIFIC TO 3CX, no I don't so it is a generic 3cx nothing fancy or special about it.
    I am no expert and bought machine to use on my property and just need a little help...
    Thanks for your help or guidance in the issue
     
  2. Coaldust

    Coaldust Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,838
    Occupation:
    Cargo Tanks, ULSD, RUG, Methanol, LPG
    Location:
    North of the 60
    Howdy BoydII,

    Welcome to the HEF! Can’t help with your JCB woes, just wanted to say, hey. Hope you get it figured out.

    $400 smackaroos don’t go very far in this biz, does it? $ 400 bucks hardly gets me out of bed, sober and my service truck warned-up when a customer calls.
     
    mg2361 and DB2 like this.
  3. joe--h

    joe--h Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    Utah
    don't really want to spend hundreds of $$ to stop a flashing symbol

    Hate to break it to you, but it's possible that something else will go wrong someday & you might need that expensive manual again.

    JCB telling me NO YOU HAVE TO HAVE ONE SPECIFIC TO 3CX, no I don't so it is a generic 3cx nothing fancy or special about it.
    I am no expert and bought machine to use on my property and just need a little help...


    As you're no expert, how do you know it's just a generic bucket you need?

    How much did you pay for the machine & how much are you willing to pay for the bucket?

    But you're too cheap to buy the manual? This is not going to end well.

    Joe H
     
  4. joe--h

    joe--h Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    Utah
    Coaldust, how much not sober? Is there a discount?

    Joe H
     
    Coaldust likes this.
  5. BOYDII

    BOYDII New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2022
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    FLORIDA
    Thanks for your response Joe H
    FIrst off the machine is not going to be used in a business just on my property digging ditches and other digging jobs. Second, the machine is sophisticated enough it requires a scanner just like an automobile and having a manual really won't do any good. As far as buckets go, I have found out that digger buckets are not specific to one model they fit several different ones just have to make sure they are in the same class rating, pin size and boom width. When it gets to the point it is more expensive to fix/replace I will sell it and buy an older machine that does not require proprietary scanners and software to trouble shoot it ford 555e ,LB 75 and the like.
     
  6. Tinkerer

    Tinkerer Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    The shore of the illinois river USA
    I don't know much about JCB TLB's.
    Heed the advice of that dealer in regards to buckets.
    Without a serial number for your tractor you will get little to no help here. IMHO !
    I do know that 3cx's are not all the same. They made changes in them through the different years of production.
    You cannot buy any ole service manual for a 3cx. They are serial number specific to the tractor.
    You could try disconnecting the batteries for few minutes and see if that will clear the codes.

    I have the 3CX operators manual and service manual.
    I have no way of knowing if they would be any use to you.

    I just read your last post. I would advise you to have dealer tech come out and clear the codes and then sell the dam thing as soon as you can.
    I would be as lost as you are on newer machines with computers and god forbid-- DEF systems on them.:(
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2022 at 7:58 PM
    HarleyHappy likes this.
  7. BOYDII

    BOYDII New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2022
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    FLORIDA
    Tinkerer,
    I have already paid a JCB certified technician from local JCB dealer ship to come out and supposedly clear the code, It was still flashing while he was there after clearing the code, he said it would take several start cycle to clear it, and I have done over 2 dozen start cycles and the little flashing book is still there. He stated that it was the maintenance to be performed indicator. My machine is a 2016 and does not have the DEF or regen system. There has to be a way to clear the code by turning key off and on or pushing the buttons on the instrument panel in some sort of sequence to reset the maintenance reminder.
     
  8. joe--h

    joe--h Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    Utah
    little flashing book is still there.

    It's telling you to BUY THE BOOK.

    Or you planning to call the dealer to send a tech for everything that goes wrong?

    Joe H
     
    HarleyHappy likes this.
  9. Tinkerer

    Tinkerer Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    The shore of the illinois river USA
    I wasn't implying that your JCB has DEF.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2022 at 11:09 PM
  10. Coaldust

    Coaldust Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,838
    Occupation:
    Cargo Tanks, ULSD, RUG, Methanol, LPG
    Location:
    North of the 60
    Is the machine displaying any symptoms?
    I did a quick read of the owners manual and I see a number of easy things that can make the master warning lamp illuminate.

    sticking parking brake cable. Pull up on the brake pedal and see what happens.

    Restricted air filter

    low brake fluid

    low battery voltage/ alternator not charging

    low hydraulic level

    low coolant level

    something, something transmission sensor.

    Even if the dealer tech erased the code, the warning will come right back if one of these minor issues are still present.
     
    Tinkerer, Vetech63 and mg2361 like this.
  11. Vetech63

    Vetech63 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4,726
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Maintenace reminders are not fault codes. They should be able to be set at different intervals through your monitor. Once they are reset, they should go away until they hit the set time again. It sounds like the tech didn't know what he was doing. An operator's manual should have that information and is usually easy to follow. Post a pic of your monitor.
     
    Tinkerer and mg2361 like this.
  12. joe--h

    joe--h Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    Utah
    He doesn't have the operator's manual.

    Boyd, how about some background? Not trying to insult you but do you have any mechanical background? What is it you do for a living? Is this new venture your retirement project?

    More info needed.

    Joe H
     
  13. redranch

    redranch Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Mt
    Put a piece of tape over the light. Problem solved.
     
    HarleyHappy and Vetech63 like this.
  14. Vetech63

    Vetech63 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4,726
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    LMAO...yeah that's one way!
     
    mg2361 likes this.