• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

I am meeting with OSHA. It is a free service. What questions should I ask?

esarratt

Occupation
Septic Installer
I am meeting with OSHA to help me develop the safety plan for my company. It is a free service.

I am a septic installer and a utility contractor. I also plan is to add in timber framing in the future.

What questions should I ask OSHA? The OSHA official has already provided me with sample policy and procedures to use.

I figure this is a really good professional relationship to develop.

Background:

Employees like a safe environment in which to work and I don't want anybody who works for me to get hurt. I don't mind spending the time and money to make that happen.

My insurance company likes written, formal health and safety plans. There are some insurance reductions for having this.

Legally, when my business moves grows, I have to have a written health and safety plan anyway.

Thank you for your input!

ChuckRock

This is a great opportunity and very commendable that you are taking this initiative.

Even though I expect you have a good idea of the answers - off the top of my head I would ask;

What are the most time loss injuries in the last 18 months?

What are the most common infractions cited by an audit / suggestions to stay in compliance?

What is the most over looked safety consideration on the day to day task?

Do you anticipate any OSHA related changes to the way the business would operate in the next 60 months?

These questions are easy low hanging fruit but definitely start some conversations.

Hope it goes well!

CM1995

Administrator
Occupation