1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Hydraulic Oil Filtration

Discussion in 'Compact Track/Multi Terrain Loaders' started by Quki22, Aug 5, 2022.

  1. Quki22

    Quki22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2022
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Seguin, TX
    Has anyone attempted to plumb in an onboard bypass filtration circuit for their hydraulic oil? Something that would take hydraulic oil from the tank drain hose, maybe via an oil scavenger pump, filter it through a 2 micron filter then discharge back to the top of the tank. Basically an onboard hydraulic oil kidney loop. Of course this would be in addition to the OEM hydraulic filter.
     
  2. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    21,191
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
    I've seen these used on larger machines. I would imagine the problem on a machine the size of yours is finding a location to mount it. CCJ is the class of the field for fine/bypass filtration as far as I'm concerned.
    https://www.cjc.dk/products/fine-filters/hdu-15/12-compact/
    I've got the technical file for it if you would like a copy without having to register on their web site.
     
  3. Quki22

    Quki22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2022
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Seguin, TX
    Sure Nige. If you don’t mind. I would like to review the file. Appreciate the input
     
  4. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    21,191
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
    See attached. The 2nd file might also interest you.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Quki22

    Quki22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2022
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Seguin, TX
    Thanks Nige. Looks like it’s max operation temp is 176F. Wouldn't the oil temp exceed that under operation?
     
  6. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    21,191
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
    It might need to be plumbed into the return line after the hydraulic oil cooler but I don't recall us ever having too many issues with them other than plugging the element when it got full of particles.
     
  7. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    21,191
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
    These are some slightly larger units we used on haul trucks. I checked the spec sheet. Same design operating temperature - 80degC/176degF and I know for a fact the systems on that truck can run up to close to 100degC before the high temp alarm comes on.

    upload_2022-8-5_22-42-13.png
     
    John C. likes this.
  8. Quki22

    Quki22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2022
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Seguin, TX
    Great info. Thanks Nige. That HDU 15/12 is a nice unit. Everything is compact I’ll have to do some studying to see if there is even any room. If not I may have to try and piece together a unit that can be mounted in different locations and connected by hoses. The challenge will be getting the correct flows rates and pressure. It looks based on the fact sheet you provided that the max flow of the unit is .5 gpm. It appears low flow and adequate pressure is the key. Up to 26 psi across that filter is a significant head loss.
     
  9. John C.

    John C. Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    11,536
    Occupation:
    Machinery & Equipment Appraiser
    Location:
    Northwest
    I have a client in my area who puts systems on all his iron. I've sent him a message asking for details and will report back.

    If a system is a kidney loop it is a bypass system. If it gets plugged, nothing happens to the rest of the system.
     
  10. Quki22

    Quki22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2022
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Seguin, TX
    Thanks John. That’s what I’m looking for. Something completely separated from the machine hydraulics. Like you said, if it clogs nothing happens, filter goes into bypass and hydro oil returns to the tank unfiltered. Got to have the bypass don’t want to dead head the pump, as only bad things happen.
     
  11. John C.

    John C. Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    11,536
    Occupation:
    Machinery & Equipment Appraiser
    Location:
    Northwest
    The filters are made by a company named Harvard and the company in this area that installs them is called GreenCo. I don't see a web site for them so I suspect they only work in this area. Good Luck

    https://harvardcorp.com
     
  12. Quki22

    Quki22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2022
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Seguin, TX
    Thank you for looking into that John
     
    John C. likes this.
  13. Quki22

    Quki22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2022
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Seguin, TX
    Does anyone know if the hydraulic drain hose in the belly of the unit is pressurized during operation?
     
  14. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    21,191
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
    What machine are you talking about.? Also which drain hose.?
     
  15. Quki22

    Quki22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2022
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Seguin, TX
    Hey Nige,
    Cat 277c jwf01714. The hose that the O&M Manuel says to use in order to drain the hydraulic system/tank. It’s a loose hose with a drain plug at the end of the hose. I am curious to know if that hose has pressure on it when the machine in on.
     
  16. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    21,191
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
    It shouldn't have any major pressure in it, but an easy way to check is to loosen the hydraulic tank cap while the engine is running. Do you get a whoosh of air then nothing.? If so that's your confirmation. The tank is always going to get a small amount of pressure in it during operation as a result of heating the air in the space above the oil.

    EDIT: The tank is shown as having a breather so provided that is clear the tank should be atmospheric.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2022
  17. Quki22

    Quki22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2022
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Seguin, TX
    That makes sense. The pressure would only be the head pressure from the oil. I was under the impression that drain hose connected to the tank however when I was tracing it it connected to a hard line via a threaded connection. This also makes sense it’s Lower than the tank so you could drain the system more completely. However once I saw that it was connected to the hard line I got to thinking if this drain line was under some type of pressure during operation other than the head of the hydraulic oil in the tank.