• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

How to stop tools from rusting

komatsukid

Occupation
loader operator/plant forman
Hi all, I'm a feild mechanic based in northern Michigan. How do you mobile guys stop your tools from rusting especially tools like impact sockets and industrial finish tools? Thanks

Mike L

Occupation
Self employed field mechanic
I pretty much just accept it. Had a truck with a heated body once and it was great because you’d never pick up a cold wrench but once you shut the truck off condensation would turn everything that wasn’t chrome to rust.

Vetech63

It’s difficult to stop in high humidity areas. I try to wipe my stuff down as often as time allows.

Hobbytime

just get a spray bottle and fill with clean #2 oil and every once in a while spray them down, you can wipe them off or just let the oil sit on them...whats good about that is all your channel locks or adjustable stuff will move freely..and its cheap to use #2

John C.

Occupation
Machinery & Equipment Appraiser
I used to leave the hydraulic oil on them. I picked everything up with a rag in my hand. Now days I just don't care as much.

oceanobob

Occupation
general contractor
The LPS product number 3 is about $20 per can. Shake it and do that again. A thin film such as one would accomplish with WD40 will look similar but once the LPS3 dries will leave a thin kind of waxy film. No rusting. Cleans off easily and readily with some WD40.

Excellent to spray on chrome hydraulic rams that may have nicks which lead to rusted areas that eat seals. Prior to starting the tractor, wipe with a rag. Repeat when tractor parked.

MarshallPowerGen