• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

how to price for jobs

bjs

Occupation
lawn care speclist
i was wondering just got a ctl. jd. how do u price for a job for each attachment or is it just for the price of the machine and thats it. keep it simple or what. i have a stump grapple, root/rock rake ,tooth bucket and smooth and a rock hound and forks how do i price them for a job. im new at this and dont know. im sorry if this is a dumb question. any help would be nice thanks.

stumpjumper83

Occupation
Movin dirt
Every job has a barcode on it. you just locate the barcode, scan it in with your android app for earthmoving and done. Shows a list of all materials necessary to complete, estimated time & everything.

Barcode is located directly to the left of the last shovel full of dirt that needs moved.

Trout Creek

I have had people charge for machine hours one rate and man hours at another. Didn't matter what the man was was doing as long as he was on the job the clock was running. i.e. Man hours are $50/hr and Machine at $100. If the man is working the machine you are billing at $150/hr. I have also had people bid the job. As a comsumer I like this method. As a contractor I like the other. I have also had people charge for move-in costs if the job was small and would not justify the expence of moving equipment.

I would really think it depends on the situation.

Hope this helps a little.

Hendrik

I think you should have a base rate for the bare machine (work out the operating cost per hour, double that and add your wages) and then add on the cost of the attachment.