• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

How to prepare for Apprenticeship

Ifonly

I was accepted into a nearby Local's Apprenticeship Program, and was looking for insight on what to expect. Any advice or tips ? What to focus on? What NOT to do?

I've been told to try getting certified on specialty type equipment (Cranes, Pipeline, GPS etc.) will yield more steady work at better pay. Would you guys agree? Do I really have a choice in the matter? Is it worth limiting myself so early on?

I have 2 years' experience operating at a concrete recycling facility (Excavators, Loaders, Backhoes, Forklifts etc.), but have not had any formal training nor done any road work.

I'd greatly appreciate any input, thanks.

Buckethead

Occupation
Operator
Not knowing where you are, if I told you I knew how to answer your question I'd be lying. For now, just report to school when they tell you to, pay attention, and keep your head in the game.

CascadeScaper

Occupation
2nd year Operating Engineer Apprentice