1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

How to get an hour meter fixed?

Discussion in 'Tractor/Loader/Backhoes' started by RenoHuskerDu, May 2, 2022.

  1. RenoHuskerDu

    RenoHuskerDu Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Texas
    The hour meter for my 4BT in a Mauldin M413XT is inoperative. Anybody know someone I can send it to for repair?

    Pic so you know what the machine is...

    image.jpg image_9.jpg
     
  2. farmerlund

    farmerlund Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    919
    Occupation:
    Farmer/ excavator
    Location:
    North Dakota
    Try Precision Instrument in AZ
    602-973-1055
    800-873-1055
     
    RenoHuskerDu likes this.
  3. cuttin edge

    cuttin edge Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,052
    Occupation:
    Finish grader operator
    Location:
    NB Canada
    Probably easier to buy a new one. Our old Alitec has the same dash. They mounted the new meter in the engine compartment
     
    RenoHuskerDu likes this.
  4. RenoHuskerDu

    RenoHuskerDu Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Texas
    Seems their new number is 480-980-2586 and I left them a message. Thank you.

    Just feed it 12v when the key is on? Sounds pretty easy, thanks.
     
  5. Billrog

    Billrog Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    643
    Occupation:
    band mill , backhoe and dump truck
    Location:
    Armstrong, British Columbia
    RenoHuskerDu likes this.
  6. RenoHuskerDu

    RenoHuskerDu Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Texas
    Very nice lady called back. Wrong company, this one only does custom digital gauges. Seems the first one is gone. FYI
     
  7. Tinkerer

    Tinkerer Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7,651
    Location:
    The shore of the illinois river USA
    Are there any dealers in the area ?
    I'm guessing that they send the dash clusters somewhere to be repaired.
    maul.png
     
  8. kshansen

    kshansen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    10,088
    Occupation:
    Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
    Location:
    Central New York, USA
    Do you have the wiring diagram for this machine so you can tell what sends power to this meter? It could be something as simple as a bad sender or a broken wire.
     
    Tinkerer, 56wrench and Nige like this.
  9. cuttin edge

    cuttin edge Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,052
    Occupation:
    Finish grader operator
    Location:
    NB Canada
    You could try this guy ZLincolnhol@calderbrothers.com I have been talking to him about our new machine. They have changed the dash on the newer ones. Our 2012 and 2014 have the gauges overhead, and the hour meter is digital. The new one if it ever gets here has a tablet like screen. But like I said, the Alitec has the same dash as your machine, so they might be available.
     
  10. RenoHuskerDu

    RenoHuskerDu Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Texas
    Ah, I wish I had a wiring diagram. For now it's just me tracing wires around. Yet to attack that one, just did a full PM as that's more important.
     
  11. kshansen

    kshansen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    10,088
    Occupation:
    Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
    Location:
    Central New York, USA
    Have you tried to see if the dealer can provide the manual? If you intend on keeping and using this machine for any length of time having one would to me be a very good investment. I can guarantee that this will not be the last time something stops working!
     
    RenoHuskerDu likes this.
  12. Tinkerer

    Tinkerer Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7,651
    Location:
    The shore of the illinois river USA
    Unfortunately the manual I have has shi#y wiring diagram. The wire codes don't show the hour meter for some stupid reason.
    It might be worth trying to purchase a paper copy of the manual. Maybe.
    colors.png harness.png
    Do you happen to have this manual ? It isn't the one I took the above images from.
    man.png
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2022
    RenoHuskerDu likes this.
  13. kshansen

    kshansen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    10,088
    Occupation:
    Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
    Location:
    Central New York, USA
    I found an online manual with the diagram like the one above but could not read any of the info as it was blurry just like that one! Wonder if the company did that on purpose?
     
    RenoHuskerDu likes this.
  14. cuttin edge

    cuttin edge Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,052
    Occupation:
    Finish grader operator
    Location:
    NB Canada
    Wouldn't be hard to trace. The machine has no electronics. I would just go aftermarket. The one on our Alitec has not worked in years.
     
    RenoHuskerDu and Tinkerer like this.
  15. RenoHuskerDu

    RenoHuskerDu Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Texas
    That is my plan. The guy whose email you gave me earlier just told me to call the dealer in Austin. We all hate Austin, it's like a little Cali in the middle of Texas. And that dealer never called me back anyway.

    I'm going to mount one under the hood. Was unsuccessful in finding one thin enough to mount on the pod.
     
    Tinkerer and cuttin edge like this.