• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Hourly rate for multiple pieces of equipment/one operator

Tonkatoy

Hi, first post here, but I have searched the forums over the years for information. I am a small owner operator, used to run a small crew but now it just me. Many of the contractors I work for (electricians, concrete contractors) will supply labor when I am working for them, it is a good system that keeps both of our costs down. Most of my work is bid work, and the small amount of hourly work I do is usually for one piece of equipment. I was wondering what others have done as far as charging for two pieces of equipment on a job with one operator when working hourly.

Thanks

Jim

tmc_31

Occupation
Sports Lighting Contractor
I am kind of in the same boat, I used to run a crew but now most of my work is just me and my equipment. Since I can only operate one piece of equipment at a time I just charge an hourly rate for the piece of equipment that I am running. It is rare that I will have more than one piece of equipment on a jobsite. On those occasions when I do, I may charge a transport charge fore each piece.

Tim

DIRTHAWK

Yep just use the hour meter on your machine. We keep a book in each machine and write the hours from the start to finish. Takes the guess work out of it.

digger242j

Administrator
Occupation
Self employed excavator