• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Help with 2010 F450 Towing Capacity, Or, Should I buy this truck?

JBI

I'm a welder / fabricator. I live in VA. I do have a CDL and a USDOT #. Right now I have an International single axle service truck rated at 33k GVW and a couple of trailers that I mainly use it to pull. One is an air-brake equipped 24' tandem and one is an electric-brake tri-axle with a 24,340 GVW. I use these trailers to move forklifts and equipment around. I also have a single rear wheel F350 with a welder on it which goes to 90% of my jobs. I don't use the International much, but when I need it, I need it.

I'm thinking of consolidating into one truck. If I did that, I'd sell both of these trucks, the air brake trailer, and one of the welders that's on the current trucks. I'd want to keep the tri-axle, because when I need a trailer, I really need it, and I don't have time to find and pay somebody to haul for me.

I've come across a 2010 F450. There is no GCWR on the door sticker, only the GVW which is 16k lbs. The truck currently weighs 9k with a closed-top utility body which I'll be modifying and then putting my tools and welder on it. It'll probably weigh 11k when I'm done. It has 4.88 gears and the gas V10. I'm not interested in a diesel for my purposes; I probably tow less than 2,000 miles a year.

My tri-axle is a low-deck trailer and is perfect for my 5k forklift which weighs 9,000 lbs. That's the heaviest thing I pull with it. Together they probably weigh 15,000 lbs although I haven't had them across a scale. The trailer's VIN tag GVW is 24k as I said above.