• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Hello all

kyoshidog

Occupation
I am a career fire fighter in the Portland area (s
I would like to introduce myself as a new member to this forum. I live in the Portland Oregon area, am a career fire fighter, and have worked in the construction filed since my early 20's. I am a general contractor and have been thinking about buying a small excavator for the last couple of years for both convenience and profit and am hoping to get some insight from the pro's on this forum. I am looking at both new and used equipment, used all seems to be used as well as abused, but is much cheaper. I am hoping to get some help with my decision. Anyhow, thanks for letting me post here, this looks like a great site!

Thank you
Karl

atgreene

Welcome to HEF. I started out in the same spot you are in now. Ask away, use the search icon alot and feel free to chime-in.

Stay safe.

kyoshidog

Occupation
Thanks!

Hey thnaks for the welcome! I am pretty excited about getting a machine, even though it will be a small one. I only have two employees and don't do any commercial work to speak of, we mostly do smaller residential, remodels, etc. I am looking at a used CAT 303.5 with about 3,000 hours on it for about $22,000 (with a new trailer), or, a new Kubota 121 for about $48,000 which would leave me with having to get a trailer also. I am really nervous about getting aused machine. What would you suggest?

Thanks
Karl
C shift
St.5
Local 1159

Countryboy

Occupation
Load Out Tech. / Heavy Equipment Operator / Locomo
Welcome to HEF kyoshidog! :drinkup

atgreene