• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Greasing Machinery

d4dozer

Now please don't laugh, because this is a serious post - I am not a Diesel Mechanic and am completely self taught.

I regularly grease my machine, always ensuring the greasing is done somewhere between 8 and 10 machine hours.

My machines have now become pretty messy due to my greasing and I suppose I am probably a bit liberal with the grease. I have always been led to believe that:
1) you grease until you see grease coming out of some point remote from the nipple;
2) you then wipe off the excess grease with a rag.

I have also noticed that grease nipple jaws become very loose very quickly. Often more grease ends up on the ground than going in the nipples. I have replaced the nipple jaws and things are good for a grease or two and then reverts back to being loose.

So I am interested in comments as to how much grease really should be put in to a joint and if others experience nipple jaws leaking - is it that I have low quality jaws or are they normally to be replaced very frequently.

Thanks and please don't laugh at such a simple post.

Paul Six

Nothing to laugh about , your way of greasing is correct , try another nipple suplyer and see if it last longer , it also depends on the machine you are greasing , personnaly on larger equipment 20T and above we use central greasing systems it is automatic and greasing while the machine works spreads the grease better

d4dozer

Thank Paul Six - it seems you are suggesting the nipples to be at fault rather than the nipple jaws? A self greasing system is something I dream of!

Last edited:

rsherril