1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Glitshy site response.

Discussion in 'Geek Patrol' started by uffex, May 27, 2022.

  1. uffex

    uffex Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,880
    Occupation:
    Admin
    Location:
    Lincoln UK
    Good day Folks
    I have found the HEF site locking up from time to time as you may respond to a post, both history and cache are cleared.
    Using the latest Firefox browser fast fibre connection, and it's not happening with other sites, anyone same experiences ?
    Kind regards
    Uffex
     
  2. John C.

    John C. Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    11,517
    Occupation:
    Machinery & Equipment Appraiser
    Location:
    Northwest
    Been happening to me since they changed servers.
     
    uffex likes this.
  3. uffex

    uffex Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,880
    Occupation:
    Admin
    Location:
    Lincoln UK
    Thanks, John, for the response
     
    John C. likes this.
  4. CM1995

    CM1995 Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,398
    Occupation:
    Running what I brung and taking what I win
    Location:
    Alabama
    I am not having any issues running Opera with Express VPN.
     
    uffex likes this.
  5. Birken Vogt

    Birken Vogt Charter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,220
    Location:
    Grass Valley, Ca
    It happens to me most every day. Sometimes worse than others. Definitely an issue with this site, because no other site does it. It seems like it is really long delays after you tell the site to do something, like load a page or post a response. I will often just leave the page and go do something else and when I come back it has usually done what I wanted it to do.
     
    John C. and uffex like this.
  6. crane operator

    crane operator Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6,478
    Location:
    sw missouri
    Its been slow for me also since the big shut down/ update this spring. Sometimes its fine, other times slow loading and response. Its only this site. Its just made me more patient.
     
    Vetech63, John C. and uffex like this.
  7. heymccall

    heymccall Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,796
    Location:
    White Oak, Pa
    I have same issues. But, I ain't paying the bills and it still kinda works, albeit intermittently, so I haven't said anything either. I was thinking out loud, quietly, that the new server would Build Back Better.
     
    Vetech63, John C. and uffex like this.
  8. uffex

    uffex Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,880
    Occupation:
    Admin
    Location:
    Lincoln UK
    Exactly better explanation than my own
     
  9. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    21,162
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
    Same here, and only since the server migration took place.
    I tend to simply close the site and then immediately open it back up again. Doing that seems to work.
    The only time I don't do that is if I have just hit "Post Reply" or am editing a post. In that case, like Birken, I go off and come back a few minutes later to find it has invairably done what I wanted it to do in the first place, albeit extremely slowly.
     
    John C. and uffex like this.
  10. uffex

    uffex Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,880
    Occupation:
    Admin
    Location:
    Lincoln UK
    Thank you all for super response, I am convinced the problem is not on my end of the wire.
    Kind regards
    Uffex
     
  11. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    21,162
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
    From my experiences it most certainly is not.
     
  12. Queenslander

    Queenslander Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,128
    Location:
    Australia
    I haven’t noticed that much difference here, but then, all of our megabytes are delivered by carrier pigeon.:(
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2022
    Tinkerer and John C. like this.
  13. Pony

    Pony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    SE Queensland
    Your pigeons can carry megabytes?
    Mine only seem to manage bytes most times.;)
    Ahh the joys of living in the bush.
     
    John C. likes this.
  14. Birken Vogt

    Birken Vogt Charter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,220
    Location:
    Grass Valley, Ca
    I don't live far out of town, but I could never get good internet here because the telco won't serve it, no cable, behind a small hill so cellular is not very good.

    I got Starlink last week and it really is as good as they say. It appears on their website that they cover most of Queensland. And maybe the rest soon or now, as they have started doing inter satellite links now. They just rolled out "RV service" which means you do not have to wait for a slot any more. Just that you get placed behind the fixed users and pay a little more.

    You can see satellites here, they either link to ground stations or each other or nothing. https://starlink.sx/
     
  15. Steve Frazier

    Steve Frazier Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,309
    Location:
    LaGrangeville, N.Y.
    I experienced it at work yesterday. I'll pass this info on to our tech. I wasn't aware it was happening or widespread.
     
  16. Steve Frazier

    Steve Frazier Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,309
    Location:
    LaGrangeville, N.Y.
    Is everyone effected using Firefox? I am as well.
     
  17. Birken Vogt

    Birken Vogt Charter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,220
    Location:
    Grass Valley, Ca
    I had it on Firefox but a couple months ago I got a new computer and have had it on Brave too. And I might have had it at work on Edge but I don't go on at work much. Some days it happens and some days it's real snappy but it seems to be more frequent lately. It can also be more or less severe.
     
  18. heymccall

    heymccall Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,796
    Location:
    White Oak, Pa
    I only ever use my cellphone, S9 running Chrome
     
  19. Queenslander

    Queenslander Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,128
    Location:
    Australia
    Starlink is very new here.
    We have neighbours who signed up and they are very impressed, although it does tend to drop out at times.
    I imagine this will improve as Mr Musk launches more satellites.
    Definitely the internet of the future.
     
  20. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    21,162
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
    It does the same thing on Safari on an iPhone as well. Well at least on my iPhone....
     
    Camshawn likes this.