• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Getting into excavation and septic work

BJ1991

Hey guys,

I've been flipping houses for the past 5 years and I'm done with it. About to sell my last house, get a decent payout and want to put some of it in an excavation startup. I'm starting up an excavation, septic and site work company because I love running heavy equipment and I believe that a properly managed and promoted company could be profitable. I could use some knowledgeable advice as I'm new to this space. Please feel free to answer in whole or in part as I know its complicated.

A good friend of mine just purchased a large farm that she wants some work done on it:
Project 1. There's about 15 acres of sand deposits (maybe 15 to 20 ft deep) she wants dug up and turned into a pond/lake. Another contractor was going to do it and sell the sand for a profit. My friend will give me this work if I can get the equipment for it and complete it correctly. What equipment would work best for this project? What is the value in that sand and how would you sell it? I know there are some materials supply yards here I could contact and see if theyd want to purchase it for resale. Cant think of anything else. Long story short, what profit is in this project? The other contractor was going to do the work for free and actually pay some amount for the sand. Anyone have experience in this?