1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Genie z60/34 won't drive

Discussion in 'Forklifts/Telehandlers' started by alyx, Jun 29, 2017.

  1. alyx

    alyx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    edmonton alberta
    Hey y'all. My name is Alyx and I'm new to the forum. I'm a 3rd year HET working in a maintenance shop for an oilfield company.

    Currently I'm working on a 2005 genie z-60/34 4wd. Serial no. Z6005-5038. Over the course of the last few months this thing has been in and out of the shop. The circuit board in the tower/basket has been replaced as have 2 joysticks. 1 being the steer and drive. At present the machine is down. It will only drive a couple feet in either forward or reverse before the alarm sounds and the joystick won't function. I can still steer I'm just unable to drive. It gives me a code 53 12 drive flow valve value too high. The only manual I have access to is a small service manual that lacks a trouble shooting tree of any sort. I'm struggling to diag this and could really use help. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. OFF

    OFF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    947
    Occupation:
    HD Mechanic
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Welcome. Genie is good at supplying manuals from their web site.

    http://manuals.gogenielift.com/Parts And Service Manuals/data/Service/Z Booms/75861.pdf

    that link should/might take you to a link to download the full manual. That "53" code kinda hints that the new joy stick was never calibrated after it was installed. There is a procedure for that in the manual. If that link doesn't work, just Google "Genie Lift" and follow the links. Support - manuals - Z Booms - Z60/30 - etc.
     
  3. alyx

    alyx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    edmonton alberta
    Thank you. I was able to calibrate it actually. By holding the joy stick in one direction for 5 seconds and the in the other for 5 seconds. I can try again though. It was actually in the yard motoring around for about a month with the new joystick in place.
     
  4. alyx

    alyx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    edmonton alberta
    Okay so joy stick is calibrated for sure and it still does it. When it does cut out the code for a non calibrated joy stick does not come up just the drive flow valve. Also the steer and brake lights do illuminate on board but the brake and direction lights do not
     
  5. barklee

    barklee Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    903
    Location:
    ohio
    Have you tested the coil for the drive function? That "value too high" is generally referring to the coil or coil wiring is faulty. I don't have a manual to look at just going from memory. I would try to swap coils and see what happens.
     
  6. alyx

    alyx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    edmonton alberta
    If you are referring to the EDC No sir I have not. I have verified power to it and that's about it
     
  7. alyx

    alyx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    edmonton alberta
    I would just like to express my gratitude to anyone that posts in here and takes the time try and help!
     
  8. barklee

    barklee Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    903
    Location:
    ohio
    Genie has a section in the repair manual dedicated to testing the coil to verify its to spec. Could be that you are dropping voltage from the wire or faulty coil. I would try to swap for another coil. Fast and easy way to eliminate things. Then test voltage on the plug.
     
  9. alyx

    alyx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    edmonton alberta
    Will do. Thanks!
     
  10. Numbfingers

    Numbfingers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Alaska
    the service manual you can download has the specs for each coil. Check the resistance of the coil. Usually around 6-8 ohms, depending on the coil.
     
  11. alyx

    alyx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    edmonton alberta
    Well fellas no luck with the coil swap
     
  12. alyx

    alyx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    edmonton alberta
  13. alyx

    alyx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    edmonton alberta
    Just to be absolutely certain this is what I'm testing resistance across yes? If so I've got 18 ohms
     
  14. OFF

    OFF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    947
    Occupation:
    HD Mechanic
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    I always like to eliminate the simplest possibilities first before working my way up to the mind-benders. :) It could be as simple as one of the boom angle sensors out of range.
     
  15. alyx

    alyx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    edmonton alberta

    Actually it turned out the harness from the ground control panel to the edc had just a little bit too much resistance. I replaced it on boom on my way! Thanks every one that replied and especially to OFF for taking the extra time to help me deal with it.