1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Genie TMZ 34/19 Error Code 0011

Discussion in 'Forklifts/Telehandlers' started by Bertfish, Jun 26, 2015.

  1. Bertfish

    Bertfish Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington, MD
    Long time lurker, first time poster.

    Recently purchased a Genie TMZ 34/19 towable manlift. I have an extensive amount of tree work to do as well as new gutters on two houses.

    Unit is a 2001, S/N T3401-354, and has about 250 hours on it. Unit is entirely battery operated. From the time of purchase I have put about 20 hours on it.

    Loaned it to a friend last week and he encountered an issue with it which I cannot figure out. He leveled the lift, got in the basket, and range the first stage of the boom up. Upon attempting to rotate the basket the unit had some sort of error which allowed him only to bring the boom back to the ground. Upon examination he discovered that the unit displayed error codes 0003 and 0011. He pulled up the outriggers and shut it down (figuring it would reset) and tried again only to find that, after leveling it again, all boom functions were disabled. The 0003 code appears to have disappeared while the 0011 persists.

    Can anyone steer me in the right direction as to what this error code indicates for this given serial number unit? I've called my local Sunbelt guy (he wasn't any help) and information on the internet appears to be patchy at best.
     
  2. Bertfish

    Bertfish Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington, MD
    I should add that it appears as though all upward boom functions have been disabled. Outriggers work, the boom will rotate (as far as it can inside of the cradle), and if you try to make the boom lower you can hear the valving open (although the boom obviously has nowhere to go since it is all the way down).
     
  3. BillG

    BillG Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    S. Wisconsin
  4. Bertfish

    Bertfish Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington, MD
    Thank you BillG. I did download that manual. What is really throwing me for a loop is that, per the manual, the LED error code display was added after S/N T3402-115 and the error codes are only good after that S/N. My unit has the LED display but the S/N is before the S/N when they added that display. I suppose someone could have replaced the ground control station at some point and retrofitted it to have the LED display however if that is the case would the error codes still be accurate?
     
  5. BillG

    BillG Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    S. Wisconsin
    Did you download the supplement?

    Sorry, that won't do any good as it's only parts updates and new schematics.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2015
  6. BillG

    BillG Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    S. Wisconsin
    probably the best thing will be to call Genie's service line, 877-367-5606 and see if they have an updated trouble code list.
     
  7. Bertfish

    Bertfish Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington, MD
    Yes. I see information and schematics for models before T3400-001 and after T3499-769; unless I'm misreading my unit does not fall in to either of those ranges. Additionally the platform controls shown on those schematics look nothing like the one on my unit.

    Is there something in the supplement that I should be looking for?
     
  8. Bertfish

    Bertfish Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington, MD
    Tried contacting Genie, they wouldn't give me the time of day since I was not an authorized service center. Or something like that.
     
  9. Bertfish

    Bertfish Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington, MD
    *Bump*
     
  10. electric man

    electric man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Shushan NY
    My lift is having the same problem, Genie not helpful at all, have taken lift to certified Genie repair center, has been back twice for same thing. I don't think they even know how to fix it
     
  11. Bertfish

    Bertfish Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington, MD
    Yep, sometimes it does seem like they are just guessing.

    I guess I should bring this thread up to speed. In an attempt to save some money instead of purchasing the $1700 blue board upgrade kit from Genie I sent the platform control circuit board to PLC Center/Radwell International in New Jersey. They specialize in repair of circuit boards which may be difficult or expensive to procure. They diagnosed several issues with it and repaired the board for about $150. Received the board, reinstalled it, unit worked for about two hours before having the identical issue. Sent the board back on warranty, Radwell found the same issues and repaired it again, and sent it back to me. This time the unit didn't even work once.

    Finally broke down and figured that the main control boards had an issue and were wrecking the platform board. Sent them to Radwell and $700 later they were fixed. Got them back, installed them, instant failure. Radwell's policy is to not tell you what repairs are necessary until after they have done the work in an attempt to protect their business. Makes sense but when I get the paper and it says "repaired multiple burns" I instantly knew I would have trashed the board and started anew. I got my refund but at the expense of wasted time, postage, and effort.

    Broke down on Monday and ordered the new blue board kit. It will be in today. Hopefully this puts this mess to bed.
     
  12. Bertfish

    Bertfish Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington, MD
    Put the new boards in today, now have error code 0100. Doesn't even appear in the manual for any of the lift models or years. Fantastic!
     
  13. Bertfish

    Bertfish Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington, MD
    Genie says 0100 doesn't exist; wondering if I somehow put the fault code display in upside down and it is actually code 0010. Consulted with a local guy who indicated that the higher fault codes usually have something to do with a coil not working when the lift does a system check during startup, or something like that. Going to check for loose connections tonight and hope for the best.
     
  14. Bertfish

    Bertfish Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington, MD
    Ok, we have made progress.

    Had a ribbon cable plugged in backwards which made the board freak out and display error codes which should not have existed. Watch carefully when you install those as there is a very small indexing extrusion on the cable end and a matching slot on the board.

    Fixed that and the code 0011 came back despite having new boards. Christ, did I blow up these brand new boards?

    I had emailed the Genie technical literature line hoping for an answer on my mystery code. The Genie/Terex support guy that got back to me confirmed the code was errant. I told him that the code 0011 persisted even though I had new boards. He advised me to open the platform control box up and unplug the ribbon cable which connected the button pad to the circuit board. After doing that I powered on the unit and the code 0011 had cleared; this indicates a bad button pad. I ordered a new push button pad ($149) online and it should be in on Monday. Stupid me, should've started with the cheap stuff. If this all goes well I'll post up the Genie tech's contact info; he seemed willing to help despite me not being a business (though I did not explicitly mention that).

    The platform control box I have is beat up pretty bad so I decided not to reuse it with my soon-arriving new key pad. The box is simply a Hoffman Q-25188PCE enclosure which is readily available online. Genie wants about $600 for the pad and box; if you buy the box, drill the required holes, move components over, and mount the pad yourself you can do it all for about $250. I'll give it a shot and post up the result, shouldn't be too hard though.
     
  15. Bertfish

    Bertfish Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington, MD
    Alright, the lift works again.

    The testing procedure for the platform control pad worked. If you get a code 0011 I suggest you start with that test before spending $1700 unnecessarily on boards. See the post above this one for the procedure.

    I was successful in rebuilding the box by myself. Only agitating part is the studs underneath of the touchpad which the circuit board attaches to. Genie must have them made in to the box when it is manufactured as they are an extremely tight fit and do not have a head on them (they must sit flat under the pad). I ended up switching to non-locking nuts to get the circuit board tightened down.

    If you need new circuit boards you need to know the new dipswitch positions. Dipswitch positions for the TMZ 34/19 with the blue board upgrade are:
    Switch 1 - ON always
    Switch 2 - ON if you have an hour meter, OFF otherwise
    Switch 3 - OFF always
    Switch 4 - OFF if you have hydraulic outriggers, ON for manual outriggers (Genie gave this to me backwards and had me panicking)
    All other switches are unused and therefore OFF

    Anyone gets jammed up PM me and I can give you the contact information for the Genie technical service guy I spoke to.
     
  16. TNTSEC

    TNTSEC New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    MISSISSIPPI
    bertfish, you dont have any of the old green boards left that you might let go of do you?

    thanks
    tntsec
     
  17. Bertfish

    Bertfish Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington, MD
    I saved them, yes. I believe they are still good (since it ended up being a bad touchpad) but I have no way to guarantee that. I will PM you
     
  18. andycarey

    andycarey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Bardstown, KY
    Touch Pad

    Where did you find the touch pad for $149? I am unable to find it for less than $550. I'm having the same issue. Error code 0015 (ground fault error), but if i unplug the touch pad the error goes away. Any help would be appreciated.



     
  19. Bertfish

    Bertfish Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Darlington, MD
  20. andycarey

    andycarey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Bardstown, KY