1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Genie TMZ 34/19 Error Code "0000"

Discussion in 'Forklifts/Telehandlers' started by sgray, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. sgray

    sgray Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    MA
    Hello, I have a 2002 genie towable boom lift that comes up with error code "0000" when switched on to either ground or bucket control position. This happened once before. Left it alone for a while after checking all connections. Switched it on, code went to 0015 (ground control pad fault), then suddenly went to four dashes (normal operating), and worked. Then, another day, all was working well, swtiched from ground to bucket controls, and same "0000" error code. Nothing works. I replaced the bucket control touch pad as a result of a conversation with the genie factory service tech. They're not very helpful, as they are only interested in sending you to an authorized service dealer. Problem is, I'm building way up north in NH, a long ride with a genie dragging behind. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance if you can help! sg
     
  2. OFF

    OFF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    764
    Occupation:
    HD Mechanic/Shop Foreman
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Nice. The manual doesn't even show a 0000 trouble code.

    We have a TMZ 34/19 on the lot that hasn't moved in about 6 years because it also has issues.
    The factory guys may not seem helpfull because they just don't know. There comes a point with
    these machines where they have to throw parts at it and hope something works.
    (one or both of the two main circut boards)
    There are some pretty sharp Genie on this site, hopefully one of them will have something more for you.
     
  3. VoodooMojo

    VoodooMojo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Occupation:
    Sr Technical Service Representative
    Location:
    Baltimore, East Coast USA
    do you have access to a laptop with a 9-pin serial port or a USB to Serial Adaptor?
    At the lower control box on the bottom is a connector to interface with a computer.
    Message me an e-mail address and I will get the program to you for your laptop. This will assist you in troubleshooting your communication error.

    I would imagine that the Genie service tech asked if the boards at the upper and lower controls were the same color? Green or Blue? They must be the same. Also, are the DIP Switches on the cpu board set in the correct positions?
     
  4. sgray

    sgray Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    MA
    Thanks so much for your reply, and sorry not to get back to you sooner! Been on the road. Yes I have a laptop, and the required cord. I didn't check the dip switches, as this error statrted while already in use, but I will double check against the repair manual (downloaded from Genie) specs. The control boards were all updated to the blue versions. My email is scottgray@catcountry.com. I really appreciate the help! I bought this machine to build a dream house up in NH. Started building (own 2 hands) back in 2008, and like so many folks have taken quite a hit in the pocketbook. My day job is retail advertising on commission.
     
  5. sgray

    sgray Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    MA
    Hi again, I received an email from you after your generous offer to help by sending the diagnostic progam. However, the email only contained a notice from the postmaster that the attachement was undeliverable because there was no file extension? Not sure what that means...I did reply to your email, but again unsure if it got back to you. I was hopeful to be able to try to fix the lift with your help, as my current situation is that I can't bring the machine some 90 miles to a dealer service that would certainly be more than I can afford right now. I'd be able, and happy, to pay any postage and consultation expenses you might need. Just let me know if that's the case, and if you can't help, also just let me know, and I'll keep searching. Again, I appreciate your input.
     
  6. VoodooMojo

    VoodooMojo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Occupation:
    Sr Technical Service Representative
    Location:
    Baltimore, East Coast USA
    Ethically, I cannot, and would not want to, be able to charge for a service. My only reward is to assist others keep the old gear up and running.

    The issue with this machine model is that it utilizes a microcontroller based control system.
    Genie makes an upgrade kit to replace the upper and lower control boxes (microcontroller) with relay based control boxes. It is a great improvement to install but is pricey to say the least.

    anyway,

    the 0000 generally means that there is an input already present when the control sytem is turned on.
    This is usually caused by a damaged or shorted switch at either the upper or lower control touch pad.
    Being you already changed the upper touchpad, lets look at the lower control touchpad.

    The next time the 0000 code comes up: turn the machine off, open the lower control box lid, disconnect the plug from the touchpad (ribbon cable) connected to the circuit board that is mounted to the lid.
    After removing this plug, turn the power back on to see if the 0000 code is gone. If it is, then one of the buttons on the pad is shorted. If the code is still there, then the search will continue for a ghost input.

    a loose e-prom can also cause this condition.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2012
  7. sgray

    sgray Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    MA
    OK, I'll try the connection first. I had replaced the lower pad when I first bought the machine, as it stopped working and came up with 0015 code. The pad was very worn looking, and when replaced, she came back to life! Not sure how soon I can get back to NH, but will check in as soon as I try the pad connections. What is an "e-prom"? Or where do I look for it, them? I appreciate yout time and help!
     
  8. KES

    KES Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Where can the replacement controller be purchased. I have paid more than they can cost having my lift repaired only to have the same 0015 error code appear almost every time we need to use it on a job. I asked the authorize folks and they said nothing was offered. Glad I came across this post.

     
  9. VoodooMojo

    VoodooMojo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Occupation:
    Sr Technical Service Representative
    Location:
    Baltimore, East Coast USA
    With manual operated outriggers:
    part # 104867: TMZ34 from serial # T3498-001 to T3499-769
    part # 104866: TMZ34 after serial # T3400-001

    With hydraulic operated outriggers:
    part # 104855: all TMZ34 with hydraulic outriggers.

    available through any major rental yard or other authorized Genie, Terex AWP distributor/dealer


    a few places witha quick Google search:
    http://www.google.com/#hl=en&sugexp...9b32cb13d2b354&bpcl=35466521&biw=1024&bih=524
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2012
  10. sgray

    sgray Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    MA
    Let me start by saying THANK YOU VoodooMojo! You were right on the money! I unplugged the base pad decal, and sure enough, the unit re-set properly, and I was able to operate the lift from the bucket controls! Still wasn't sure if the problem was the pad, or in the circuitry. I did notice when I plugged the ground pad back in, pushing eack control button to try and narrow down the porblem, that when I pushed the auto level button, the display flashed to 0015. So, traced the ribbon from the button to the pin connector, re-connected the pad, pushing that pin out of the way...Voila! Everything (except auto level) worked!!! Again, I offer my most sincere thanks to you. You have re-instilled my faith in mankind! A perfect stranger taking precious time to help! I would be remiss if I didn't pass along thanks to this forum...a great site and platform! I only hope I can pass it forward!
     
  11. KES

    KES Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    VoodooMojo, I can't thank you enough for the information about the replacement controller. I have asked my local guys about something like this almost twice a year (each time I had controller problems) for the past 3-4 years and been told nothing like this existed. I ordered one and spent the last two evenings installing it. Will be calling Genie on Monday as I cannot seem to make the jib work from the upper controller even after checking the connections on the cable, but other than that, the lift is again working and I don't expect I will have the same issues as with the electronic that seemed to always go out in the middle of a job. Thank you again
     
  12. VoodooMojo

    VoodooMojo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Occupation:
    Sr Technical Service Representative
    Location:
    Baltimore, East Coast USA
    it may just be the contact block at the upper control jib switch

    a couple questions:

    Does the Jib work from the lower controls?

    Do the Primary and Secondary Booms function correctly from the upper controls?
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2012
  13. KES

    KES Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    yes, ground control works the jib and all other functions work from the upper controls.
     
  14. VoodooMojo

    VoodooMojo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Occupation:
    Sr Technical Service Representative
    Location:
    Baltimore, East Coast USA
    Did you get a hold of Genie?
     
  15. VoodooMojo

    VoodooMojo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Occupation:
    Sr Technical Service Representative
    Location:
    Baltimore, East Coast USA
    There is nothing different going on at the upper or lower controls.

    Does the pump start when the jib switch at the upper controls is pressed?
     
  16. KES

    KES Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Did not manage to speak to anyone this week. Nothing happens when I try the jib , pump never starts. Everything else works fine.
     
  17. VoodooMojo

    VoodooMojo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Occupation:
    Sr Technical Service Representative
    Location:
    Baltimore, East Coast USA
    We will need to check, with a voltmeter, voltage at the Upper Control Jib Select Switch Green Wire and then the same wire at the Lower Control Jib Select Switch while the Upper Control Jib Select Switch is pressed.

    The Upper Control Jib Select Switch and Lower Control Jib Select Switch are wired in parallel to each other.
    Somewhere between the two, the signal from the upper to the lower is being lost. We need to find it.

    If you would like assistance with this, I can give you my number and I have a pretty good feeling that we will find the problem.
     
  18. KES

    KES Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Thanks for the information. As is usual with
    Me, the most simplistic was the last to check. I did check the cable at all points, then for the first time removed the cover for the upper control to find the jib control switch was in two pieces. Apparently it was not seated when the retainer clip was installed. Lift works great now. Thanks for all your help and especially your offer to talk me thru it. Thought I was going to need it when the leads were good to the platform.
     
  19. qarm

    qarm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Hi All I have a Genie TMZ 34/19 2002 build year has fault code 00001 was ok prior now all outrigger lights flash and continuous alarm sounds and all functions except turntable will not operate...any ideas?
     
  20. VoodooMojo

    VoodooMojo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Occupation:
    Sr Technical Service Representative
    Location:
    Baltimore, East Coast USA
    are the outriggers down and the machine level?
    are the outriggers up and will not come down?

    0001 is a safety circuit fault.
    The ecu thinks:
    The booms are not stowed and the outriggers are not down.

    a limit switch will be the cause

    We need to know the state of the machine. What positions are the booms and outriggers?

    The first place to check is the large black plug connection attached at the bottom (left side) of the lower control box.
    (on the circuit board inside the box the word 'outrigger' is written)
    It is the I/O of all the limit switches from the outriggers and booms.

    Pull the plug loose and check for connectors not pushed all the way into the plug.
    Also check the connectors to see if they are spread out too far and not making good connection with the pins on the circuit board.

    If this area is ok and the outriggers are down and making contact, and the booms are lowered fully, we will need to check the limit switches.

    Here is a clip from the schematic:

    tmz34 outriggers plug.png