• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Genie S-65 Fire

barklee

I posted a few months back that we had a fire in a 2006 Genie S-65 boom lift. We are a little slow at the moment and i have been trying to dig into this and get something figured out. This machine has a LRG 425 engine. Basically everything on the fire wall side is burnt electrical wise. Not being a mechanic i am having a hard time determining what is needed. I got a parts print out from a Ford industrial dealer but it doesnt have an electrical break down. I called them back and when i told them it was in a Genie lift they said to contact Genie and they couldnt provide a electrical parts sheet because Genie custom orders these engines and they couldnt guarantee the parts on the machine.

So, i have pulled as many part numbers out of the Genie book as i can determine and i am having a heck of a time getting a price for all these parts. I will say that the computer is blackened but not deformed in any way, i am told that is a spicy meatball to buy!

Questions:
1) Can someone guesstimate the cost of these parts (if thats even possible)
2) I went to the local junk yard and it looks to me that a ford 2.3 Ranger engine has the same parts. Is that true? The Ford dealer couldnt confirm for sure
3) I got a price on a new complete spec engine with computer and duel fuel control for $3200. Is that a good price and is this the best approach?

The engine doesnt look like it got too hot, the fire was put out within about 2 minutes.