1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Genie 1930 electrical issues

Discussion in 'Forklifts/Telehandlers' started by gyman98, Sep 17, 2019.

  1. gyman98

    gyman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    I have a genie 1930 that was working fine and then lost all power. Nothing works now or lights up. I have 24volts through the fuse, I have 14 volts at the 7amp circuit breaker and the key. Zero voltage at the B+ and B- motor controller.

    I really don’t know what to check to narrow down where the issue is
     
  2. Paul Council

    Paul Council Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Check your estop buttons. Wires are known to come out. Also there at the motor controller there's a 200amp fuse.
     
  3. gyman98

    gyman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    The e stop on the platform is good and has power both sides. I’ll check the control box button. The fuse at the batteries is good. I can’t find a fuse at the motor controller?
     
  4. Paul Council

    Paul Council Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    Somewhere
    That's the fuse that I am telling you about. I work on so many things that I get it all mixed up. :confused:
     
  5. gyman98

    gyman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    I hear ya, I checked the e stop on the platform control and it’s good too
     
  6. Paul Council

    Paul Council Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    Somewhere
    What is the serial number of your machine? I can help you better if I knew which 1930 you have.
     
  7. gyman98

    gyman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    I’ll have to look in the morning, only thing on my invoice is serial #98663
     
  8. skata

    skata Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    midwest
    Is the charger plugged in?
     
  9. gyman98

    gyman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Charger works, batteries are full, charger is unplugged and 24vdc is going through the main fuse
     
  10. skata

    skata Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    midwest
  11. gyman98

    gyman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Hi it is GS3009B098863
     
  12. gyman98

    gyman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
  13. gyman98

    gyman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    I do not have power going through this black box where the 2 positive cables attach. Top has 25volts and the bottom has 1.5volts
     

    Attached Files:

  14. skata

    skata Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    midwest
    Is that the relay that turns on the hydraulic pump?
    Do you have lights on the control? Hear any clicks when trying functions?
     
  15. gyman98

    gyman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    I’m not sure what it is, my schematic doesn’t show it. I have nothing, no clicks, no lights
     
  16. gyman98

    gyman98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Correction, the top is positive and the bottom is negative. I don’t see why the bottom would be negative?
     
  17. skata

    skata Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    midwest
    Bottom is red. I doubt it's negative
     
  18. Paul Council

    Paul Council Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    Somewhere
    I don't see it in the schematics either. If I had to guess that is a contactor relay. Basically when you power up with the key it makes contact and connects the batteries. It's kinda like a battery disconnect. One side should come from the battery and the other should go to the motor controller. That is probably where your problem is. Check all the wires on this contactor.
     
  19. skata

    skata Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    midwest
    Or it is a solenoid for the hydraulic pump when you move the controls.
     
  20. Paul Council

    Paul Council Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Hard to know. I can only see two of the wires. And even if I can see the others I won't be able to tell where they are coming from. Genie is always leaving stuff out of the schematic.