• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Fluid help for '94 JD 310D

hoedugit

Greetings, I am a bit new to the Backhoe world, but I bought one for some side work. I need to top up the fluids, my question: is the hydraulic fluid for the Reverser unit the same as the hydraulic fluid for the main resavoir? Or do they take slightly different types? If I were to walk into Napa I would ask for........? (for both reverser and hyd resavoir)

thanks in advance for all help

hoedugit

J Olender

Jd 310D guy

I have an E model and it has a trans fluid filler tube and a main hydraulic filler tube. I use the same "premium" tractor fluid in both. You will be fine if you do the same.

hoedugit

J Olender, thanks. So basically the trans, the reverser, the main hyd unit all take the same fluid? I got led a bit astray but a guy said the trans and reverser took a mixed trans/hydraulic fluid and the main resavoir took strait hyd fluid......this sounded odd to me but like I say I am a bit new to the operating world with these things, mostly my equipment time has been limited to running skidder....how about the viscosity level? High, low?

Thanks again

hoedugit

J Olender

I would check with your Deere dealer on the viscosity. But I use what is called "premium" tractor fluid, which can be used in both the trans and the main hydraulic system. But make sure whatever you use, that it says it's a multi use fluid. I get mine at napa auto part stores or Sam's Club carries it as well.

Deon