• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Final Drive Leaking

bull

I have a JD 70 d Excavator (same as Hitachi EX 60).

Today it quickly dumped all the hyd oil from the right rear final drive (appears to be on the inside, maybe between motor and sprocket?).

Any idea what this might be and what I need to do to repair.

I'm a novice excavator guy.

Thanks much.

Huntoon

Occupation
Sales Engineer. I design OEM tracked undercarriage
Hi Bull,

The sequence of parts likely goes like this:

pump --> hoses -->( mcv -->) hydraulic motor --> gearbox --> sprocket --> chain

I don't know if there is a mcv on this excavator, but it could be defunct seal between the motor and mcv (motion control valve). It could be the hose connection... It could be the gasket in the gearbox is toast.

Can you post a picture?

willie59

Administrator
Occupation
Service Manager
Does it smell like gear oil or hyd oil. Gear oil is pretty easy to tell, terrible odor. If it's gear oil, likely failed seal for planetary hub (final drive hub).

John C.

Occupation
Machinery & Equipment Appraiser
Sounds like a hydraulic hose rubbed against the frame and is leaking down and out the motor guard. Gear oil would have to leak out the sprocket seal and you would be able to smell that a long way away.

cps

Occupation
plant mechanic
Sounds like its the brake piston seals! done a fair few of these this past year, not a big job to do! remove the motor from the f/d (no need to remove the complete drive unit) and youll see a brake spring, remove this and youll see the piston! take it out and theres 2 D-ring style seals a big one and a smaller one!

Aiden

finaldrive