• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

field mechanic

td25c

Answer cell phone & get details on problem and directions to the job site .

Show up & repair equipment as needed.

Thank the customer for calling as you hand them the invoice .

That's the short answer..:)

Mike L

Occupation
Self employed field mechanic
i'm a field mechanic for a private construction company. my duties consist of diagnosing and repairing equipment, trucks, trailers, and company pickups. I do all the parts ordering, some parts running, listening to operator complaints, helping the lowbed driver, welding, a/c work, maintenance records, delivering bad news to my employer,haul culverts to the jobsite etc, and THEN if I get all that done I do some work for ranchers and other outfits through my employer. Are you looking into taking a job?

overworked

MikeL, thanks but I don't need a job, maybe a shrink !!! I was looking to see how the outside world operates, keep them coming.

big ben

My list of expectations of a field mechanic
1. Troubleshooter - this is what separates the best from the good - effective and efficient troubleshooting
2. Ability to repair or get equipment going without the right parts or tooling if required
3. Well rounded and know a little of all systems (eg engines, hydraulics, powertrain, electrical)
4. Someone with people skills to interact with the customers and ability to present themselves professionally

02Dmax

Able to act confident and reassuring even when tackling something they've never been into before. Lol.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2

Mobiltech

Occupation
Self employed Heavy duty mechanic