1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

estimating software

Discussion in 'Computer Applications and 3D Modeling' started by jmac, May 13, 2006.

  1. dirt digger

    dirt digger Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    598
    Occupation:
    pushing dirt, baling hay, and hitting the books
    Location:
    PA
    we do those...we bring them into a program called Terramodel and trace the topos then export them to a program called AgTek to do cuts/fills and 3D modeling

    they are pricy though but do a great job
     
  2. mockman

    mockman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Omaha
    I worked with a guy that used that agtek software. His quantities seemed to be closer than what I and the engineer had matched on. The engineer uses a program called 3-D civil, they told me only engineers use it. Anyway we were all within just a few thousand yards. Not a giant job, around 60,000 cubic yards give or take a few. Had that been a few million, it could have hurt, more than likely. There are some guys out there that do these takeoff's for contractors. That is an option too. Like a hundred or two for most jobs. For occasional bids, might be best way to go if in doubt. Some people do alot of hourly work and occasionally bid. Not much room for mistakes anymore.
     
  3. Madeen2

    Madeen2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    montana
    Take a look on E-bay for the last couple months there has been a guy selling paydirt and terramodel(Full Versions 20 module terramodel and 9 module paydirt)for 150-300 dollars i purchased the terramodel from him and with some tweaks it works with out a hitch.I'm pretty sure it was a hacked copy but like i said it worked without a hitch.
     
  4. pswag115

    pswag115 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Eastern Pa
    we also use paydirt & teramodel. it was 7000.00 to start and @ 1100 a year for the upgrades. makes great presentations to builders who are not used to seeing this for smaller projects.
     
  5. TechTim

    TechTim New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Alabama
    Well, I just had to chime in on this one.... I've used them all, Quest, Paydirt, Insight, etc..... but my money is on Paydirt. It's very accurate. Now that I'm parking my tractors for better days.... if they ever come, I've got a LOT of stuff including Paydirt and Terramodel that I can let go. I've got a PC with Carlson Takeoff, Paydirt, Terramodel, AutoCAD 2006, etc... that i I'll put on somebody cheap. Drop me a line if there are any takers!

    Tim
    tman_35205@yahoo.com
     
  6. Jerry Cresp

    Jerry Cresp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Occupation:
    Software
    Location:
    Australia
  7. CementCreek

    CementCreek New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'll chime in for PlanSwift. We've been using them for a bit and like it. Easy to use, great support, does everything we want. Price was right too. I think they still have a couple week free trial so you can give it a try. See what you think.
     
  8. Allengrading

    Allengrading Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    NC
    We use Agtek for computer takeoffs as well as grade control on many of our machines. Agtek is able to use PDF's as well as importing cad-files. It will run you well over a grand though.
     
  9. DGODGR

    DGODGR Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    S/W CO
    Ya..about 15 to 20 times.
     
  10. jim.bennett

    jim.bennett Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Chico CA
    AGTEK is pretty much the industry standard for Qty takeoffs on earthwork paving and trenching. It has proven to be very valuable for us at Knife River.
     
  11. DGODGR

    DGODGR Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    S/W CO
    Knife River in Chico? I thought you guys were in WA, OR, and ID.
     
  12. jim.bennett

    jim.bennett Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Chico CA
    Yes We have offices in Long Beach, Stockton Area, We are all over. TX, MN, WY, ND, SD
     
  13. TLV1

    TLV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Occupation:
    Project Manager
    Location:
    Alexandria Ohio
    I Currently have Earthworks Plus. I'm selling it with the computer, monitor, cables and key, and a GTCO 30"x36" Calcomp Super LIV Digitizer, for $3,500.00. As you know the software itself is $3,500.00, and the digitizer new price is $2,400.00. We are using Insight now so this digitizer is taking up needed space. Its in great condition and everything is set up and ready to go. Its a slam of a deal. If interested give me a call at 614-301-8544 ask for Omar.
     
  14. Colorado Digger

    Colorado Digger Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169
    Location:
    Carbondale,co
    What do you guy's think would work best for smaller civil jobs and large foundation digs? The quantites are usually 2-15k c/yds. What I really need help on, are the complecated grading plans to calculate my cut and fill.
    Thanks,CD
     
  15. CM1995

    CM1995 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,901
    Occupation:
    Running what I brung and taking what I win
    Location:
    Alabama
    Yeah me too. I need a program that can do take-offs from PDF's, since that is the format I get 90% of my plans from. I am tired of manually calculating the cut and fill on the grid method, it's time consuming and prone to errors.
     
  16. Colorado Digger

    Colorado Digger Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169
    Location:
    Carbondale,co
    I can't stand bidding off of PDF's. I almost always get a fullsize set of the civils. The last job I bid cost $75.00 for the plans. I would love to hear some input on this subject. If no one responds we can start another thread on the matter.
     
  17. CM1995

    CM1995 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,901
    Occupation:
    Running what I brung and taking what I win
    Location:
    Alabama
    I don't bid off PDF's either, hence the search for a program to digitally perform take-offs from PDF's. I get my paper plans printed at Staples for $2 bucks or so a sheet. There are a few programs out there that perform quantity take-offs from PDF's or CAD files but I don't know which one is worth the money.:beatsme

    My plans cost run $40-80 per job. When you are bidding several jobs this can get expensive when you come in second...
     
  18. DGODGR

    DGODGR Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    S/W CO
    I find it very difficult to work of off PDFs because they are usually too small, and too cumbersome when you need to skip over to the details for a quick glance. IMO full size prints are the best. I have spent a lot of money on plans that I ended up not needing. The big job plan sets can often be dozens of sheets. I would like to try PDFs on a big moniter though. It would be great if you had two or three so that you could look at the primary sheet (say structurals) on the main screen, and then the details/architecturals on the other screens. This should work well for civil plans too. I wonder how much it would cost to buy a moniter that would fit a 34 x 17 at 100%.
     
  19. DGODGR

    DGODGR Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    S/W CO
    As far as estimating software goes, I use the grid method and I am sick of it. I have found it to be pretty accurate but you must make a lot of squares to get accuracy. I have experienced an web sales session from Agtek. This was a couple of years ago. It was a one-on-one presentation where you are talking on the phone while on the computer. The salesman takes your PDF (you can use one that you are biding) and shows you the basics of how it works. It's quite impressive. It is 3-dimmensional and I could see how it could be a very effective sales tool as well as an estimating tool. I would have liked to buy it until he told me it was a bargain at $22k. It does not do underground either. At least not at that time. They are pestering me again (inviting me to do another presentation) for the new version. I believe it's called Agtek 4-D now and they claim it now does underground too. I could see this being a great tool but IMO you'd have to be bidding $100 million a year (and getting about 20% of the jobs) to justify the costs. Yes, I know this is an exxageration but it is a lot for a small outfit. BTW there were also maintenance costs on top of the inital purchase.
    On edit: I forgot to mention that the presenter uses your computer for the presentation. You must agrant him access to your computer but once you do, he runs your computer from his location. You can still run it too, which you do when he lets you try things, but mostly you watch hime run th eprogram on your computer. It was pretty cool and I was able to use his take-offs for a bid (no I didn't get that job).
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2013
  20. KyleM

    KyleM Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Occupation:
    GPS and Technology Manager
    Location:
    Karratha
    Hey JDecker,

    I'm assuming you've purchased something by now but to TBC has got a great heads up digitizing interface. It also has the ability to import vector pdf's which can be handy and faster than digitizing in most circumstances.

    Cheers,