1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

D6D battery size

Discussion in 'Dozers' started by JohnS2245, Dec 16, 2020.

  1. JohnS2245

    JohnS2245 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    New york
    Hi what is the correct battery size for a Cat D6D?
     
  2. Bluox

    Bluox Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,277
    Location:
    WA state
    I think it was 2 4D batteries .
    Bob
     
    shopguy likes this.
  3. JohnS2245

    JohnS2245 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    New york
    I think you are right. Someone has the wrong batteries in this currently.

    Also if anyone has a picture of the correct mounting for the batteries I would appreciate it.
     
  4. .RC.

    .RC. Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Qld, Australia
    I suppose it is colder then a witches tit in NY compared to the climate where I live so you need the big batteries. I just run two 4wd car batteries in mine. Combined with a geared starter motor and starting is no problem. Do not have to heat the engine though.
     
  5. JohnS2245

    JohnS2245 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    New york
    Yes it is. Currently This have 2 31T batteries and they don't want to get the job done.
     
  6. shopguy

    shopguy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    444
    Location:
    Alabama
    Mine has 4DLT’s but I am sure it was born 4D’s
     
  7. Dave Neubert

    Dave Neubert Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    925
    Location:
    Monroe NC
  8. kshansen

    kshansen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    9,582
    Occupation:
    Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
    Location:
    Central New York, USA
    Believe that would be right, but to be sure what are the dimensions of the battery box? I say use the biggest pair of batteries that will fit!
     
  9. stars&bars44

    stars&bars44 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Occupation:
    Earthmoving
    Location:
    Trinity NC
    2 4d around 900 cca will do. Posts to front of machine, hot from starter closest to door, jumper in middle, ground to battery switch near seat.
     
    DB2 likes this.
  10. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18,788
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    31 batteries are listed for certain markets (generally hotter climates or so it seems), 4D for others. The illustration from the Parts Manual showing how the batteries are installed. If you want the actual parts manual for your machine then post a Serial Number.

    upload_2021-1-19_19-52-57.png
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2021
  11. Delmer

    Delmer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    7,021
    Location:
    WI
    if the 31's aren't doing the job, you may have problems besides the smaller battery.

    Are you trying to start this down around 0 F ? that's where the amps drop off and the diesels get hard to start. If not, you could swap a known good pair of batteries, try jumper cables, or do some volt drop tests on your batteries, wiring, starter. If they're old batteries already, never mind me.
     
  12. LCA078

    LCA078 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    On a somewhat related note: I had issues last month starting my little JD 401 Industrial tractor once the temp starting getting colder. It has a dual battery set up (two 12v in parallel for max amp) and both batteries were tested good. Turns out I had a bad negative cable that wasn't allowing full amps to the starter. One connector had high resistance and the other was cracked and not making full contact to the post. During static voltage tests, I had good voltages all around but starting voltages would drop significantly. Recommend testing the resistance and double checking all your cables.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Puffie40

    Puffie40 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Southeastern B.C.
    Good point, chassis ground cables have a tendency to get neglected.

    Make sure the chassis contact point of the negative cable is sitting on clean, shiny metal. I like to put a little bit of copper neversieze on mine to help hold corrosion back.