• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

cummins smoking!!

muski

hello gentelman and also any ladies out there.my name is rich and found this forum because i am stumped.i have been a mechanic for a rental equipment store for 32 years and am finally stuck.we have a cummins b3.3 turbo around a 2013 model that is powering a vermeer 10 inch wood chipper.problem is when the engine is at full throttle white smoke pours out like its something from a james bond movie!! this wouldnt be too much of a problem except that if rpms drop the feed roller stops which is what is happening. so the feed roller starts then stops starts and stops.now i know white smoke indicates water in fuel which i know there is not.drained tank filled fresh fuel new fuel filter.drained fuel filter just to check and not one drop of water came out.engine coolant has never gone down and engine oil level never has dropped either.so i guess my question would be what would make a diesel engine pour out white smoke besides water in fuel. now this smoking only happens at wide open throttle,when it is idled down it doesnt smoke at all. only at wide open. any help would be greatly appreciated,thanks muski!!!!!!

John C.

Occupation
Machinery & Equipment Appraiser
How many hour do you have on the unit?

Possible issues might include bad injector, bad fuel pump, injection timing. You might check the air filter for plugging. I'm sure there will be more ideas coming.

funwithfuel

Occupation
Mechanic