• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Cost of GPS machine control?

jjhdozing

Hey all. I’m a smaller contractor been on my own for 5 years now and growing my business every year. I’m considering joining the gps/machine control world. Just curious before I make a bunch of phone calls does anybody know what it costs roughly to buy a base and rover and cost to put it on a dozer? I have a 323f excavator which is pretty much ready. I have a d6r which had topcon on it but I would be looking into Trimble. Not sure if it costs a lot to put it in the d6r if it would be worth it but I’m looking at buying a newer d6n to add to my fleet which would be ARO ready.

Lil' Puss

I'll be watching this. It seems that lasers are just about a thing of the past.

jaclo

Hey all. I’m a smaller contractor been on my own for 5 years now and growing my business every year. I’m considering joining the gps/machine control world. Just curious before I make a bunch of phone calls does anybody know what it costs roughly to buy a base and rover and cost to put it on a dozer? I have a 323f excavator which is pretty much ready. I have a d6r which had topcon on it but I would be looking into Trimble. Not sure if it costs a lot to put it in the d6r if it would be worth it but I’m looking at buying a newer d6n to add to my fleet which would be ARO ready.

The site tech guys will be your best resource for all of this information. They're well practiced in explaining how it all works.

It's a -lot- of money. Keep an eye on the auctions for clean used GPS ready machinery that's selling the whole package.