• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Concrete Thickness Recommendation

8V149 Detroit

I am new to the form and shop talk seemed like where this should go. I'm going to be building a shop in the future and wondering what would be thick enough for heavy equipment, I was thinking 8 inchs thick but The biggest machine I have is a 300 series machine currently but will probably get something bigger in a few years

repowerguy

Occupation
mixer truck mechanic
I’d say that 6” should be adequate but it depends on a variety of different factors as well. The soil type in your area and the mix design of the concrete as well as how it’s placed are a considerable to how it holds up.
I would recommend that you call your local r-mix company and ask them for their opinion and maybe talk to their representative/engineer.

Delmer

The quality of the mix and the reinforcement is just as important as the thickness. Of course that all depends on the base also.

There's no shortcuts. And 8" is an expensive solution with no guarantee if the subsoil has soft spots.

Former Wrench

Occupation
Retired
Whatever you do, I would suggest imbedding steel rail or thick angle iron to beef up areas where tracked equipment would be brought in. Also, install rings or other that can be used for anchors when something needs to be pulled against.

alskdjfhg

What goes under the slab is more important than the thickness IMHO.

I've got about 75tons of machine tools in my 40x80 barn on 6" of concrete. No issues yet, but there is about 1500 yards of fill below it.

doublewide