1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Computer issues section

Discussion in 'Support' started by Grader4me, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. Grader4me

    Grader4me Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,792
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    I'm not sure if this has been brought up before. There are probably many computer users here that are very knowledgeable to their functions. As well there are probably just as many that are not all that computer savvy.

    As we all depend on our computers to contribute to this forum, is there any way that a section could be set aside for "computer issues"? If some of us are having problems others can help out.
     
  2. Steve Frazier

    Steve Frazier Founder

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,840
    Location:
    LaGrangeville, N.Y.
    Let's see if we get some response from anyone that might be able to offer assistance in these questions. My computer savvy is VERY limited, I'd be of little help to most people.
     
  3. willie59

    willie59 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12,475
    Occupation:
    Service Manager
    Location:
    Knoxville TN

    That sounds like me, Steve. I'd help...but you'd have to tell me how to do it! :lmao
     
  4. Grader4me

    Grader4me Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,792
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    In a lot of cases maybe a person doesn't have to be a computer whiz to help someone else. Maybe if someone posted of a problem that they was having, maybe one of the many thousands of members here had the same problem, and would know how to solve it.
    Just an idea thats all.
     
  5. bill onthehill

    bill onthehill Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    661
    Location:
    pa/ny border
    Like grader4me I am not a computer whiz but do have a fair amount of experience with problem solving computer issues. the sharing of the wealth of knowledge on this forum is what makes this a great place. I am so old I grew up on DOS and magnetic tape drives. LOL
     
  6. BIGDIRT

    BIGDIRT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    MISSISSIPPI
    I'm no whiz either but do have alot of experience building custom pc's (Watercooled Exc.). If i can help just shout!! <a href="http://s187.photobucket.com/albums/x137/BIGDIRT_photos/?action=view&current=100_0245.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x137/BIGDIRT_photos/100_0245.jpg" border="0" alt="watercooled"></a>
     
  7. BIGDIRT

    BIGDIRT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    MISSISSIPPI
  8. AusDave

    AusDave Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Occupation:
    Self employed
    Location:
    Australia
    Mac help

    I've been selling and servicing Apple Macintosh computers for 15+ years. So if you have a Mac and have an issue, you can let me know and I'll do my best to help out. You can PM me if you don't want to post.

    Mind you, with no viruses, spyware or Windows:Banghead in your Mac you'll probably have less problems than most people:)

    Regards Dave Reynolds (Machelp Australia ph: 02 4443 7665 or 0411 572 725)
     
  9. curly

    curly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Occupation:
    loader operator
    Location:
    Sioux Falls,SD

    Nice system you built there! I plan on building my next pc to run cool but using airflow instead of water cooling, too expensive for me right now but maybe once I get a couple 9800GT graphics cards going and quad cores come down in price.....
     
  10. Grader4me

    Grader4me Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,792
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Come on all you computer whizzes..fess up and tell us your willing to help us poor unfortunate computer illiterate souls. Thanks for the response so far :drinkup
     
  11. curly

    curly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Occupation:
    loader operator
    Location:
    Sioux Falls,SD
    *If you build it, they will come*
     
  12. Ross

    Ross Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    In the Rockies
    Well I bought this laptop on VISTA Launch Date (Feb 07) And it's still going without any problem's or Restart's.

    I use laptop's daily at work. If anybody Has any problem's then Just post and see what help we can offer.
     
  13. stock

    stock Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,021
    Occupation:
    We have moved on and now were lost....
    Location:
    Eire
    Ok here one Last Monday week my hp dv6244 pavilion that just refused to start worked fine on Sunday night ,let my mp4 downloading music but no joy on Monday ,wound up buying a new one,lucky I had a back up on Friday night to the external hard drive,any ideas????
     
  14. RonG

    RonG Charter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,833
    Occupation:
    heavy equipment operator
    Location:
    Meriden ct
    We need more info.If you are running XP press F8 as it boots and choose "last boot that works" and if it boots do a system restore to a date that preceeded your problems.If you have the system disk that came with the computer you may or may not be able to do a "repair install".
    The OEM versions are limited in functionality.
    We really need to know specifics to intelligently respond to any queries for help.Ron G
     
  15. Squizzy246B

    Squizzy246B Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    3,388
    Occupation:
    Digger Driver
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Stock, a HP is a computer that comes with Spam and Hijackers pre-loaded..Lol:rolleyes::D. What Ron G said but its usually the "Delete" key you hit during bootup to get into the Bios. If you did a full disk mirror image your backup software should bring it back.

    I find forums like these often have a geek help section and its often very helpful to get some basic advice. If your computer is playing up its a fair bet that your not alone.
     
  16. Steve Frazier

    Steve Frazier Founder

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,840
    Location:
    LaGrangeville, N.Y.
  17. stock

    stock Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,021
    Occupation:
    We have moved on and now were lost....
    Location:
    Eire

    Was running vista sp1,with avast anti virus, spydoctor as a stand alone anti virus scanner,zone alarm firewall,.Had also used malwarebytes to do a scan,tune up 2008 system optimiser and defrag.
    The system was as clean as I chould keep it with regular scans and disc checks,malwarebytes and spydoctor were set so the scans had to be manually started.
    When I said it wouldn,t start I mean that ,we were just getting the lights but a blank black screen and after 30 sec the system just shut down no lights or anything,like it had a flat battery ,so changed that and the power supply but to no avail so now it's under the couch awaiting a resurrection
     
  18. RonG

    RonG Charter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,833
    Occupation:
    heavy equipment operator
    Location:
    Meriden ct
    I have never had to work on a computer running Vista but it sounds like you have a bad boot record/partition.You can rebuild the MBR using the install disk with XP,not sure about Vista.
    See if you can find a live CD of one of the Linux flavors which allows you to boot to linux and run it on the CD like you were trying it out.If you can do that you will eliminate any hardware problems except the harddrive and narrow down your troubleshooting task.
    If you have access to another computer with highspeed internet you can download Knoppix live cd linux as an image file,with an .ISO exension and burn it to a cd as an "image" and give it a try.
    If anybody near you runs linux they will have what you need,you just have to make sure your bios is set to boot from a cd.Linux is good to have for troubleshooting as well if you can get the right versions of it.If that does not work,disconnect the harddrive and try it again,the drive can shut down your system due to an hardware failure as long as it is connected even though you are not booting from it.Ron G
     
  19. bill onthehill

    bill onthehill Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    661
    Location:
    pa/ny border
    http://forums.techguy.org/ Try this forum. they are a lot more geeks than I am. ron offers some good advice. It sounds like power supply might be failing. I am not fond of laptops to work on. Big hands and small mind.