• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Cleaning undercarriage

Willie B

Occupation
Electrician
I've been around machinery my whole life, yet I'm pretty new to owning, and operating a small bulldozer. I've heard the term "cleaning undercarriage" but it's a new experience to me. Home, the soil ranges from boulder to gravel. A bucket of water disappears into the ground immediately. The little bit of use I've put the crawler to has left no deposits. "The land" three miles from home, is ledge, with a shallow layer of fine sand, ranging to very deep deposits of more fine sand. It's all covered with a thin layer of organic topsoil. The weekend was warm, and wet. The crawler gets a mass of mud on the track frame. I know I need to clean it, but a satisfactory tool has thus far evaded me. There are a hundred little crevices that can't be reached with a shovel. How is it done? I long for a freeze.

Willie

moriboy

Occupation
Machine shop owner
I'm watching for responses on this thread. My property is pretty wet most of the year, and I can't run my equipment without getting mud packed everywhere on the undercarriage. I pressure wash it, but man that is a pain! Hoping someone has a better idea.

willie59

Administrator
Occupation
Service Manager
May not be a workable solution for you guys if you don't have a skid steer, but I have to clean the track frames of our rental fleet quite frequently when they return and I use a skid steer with a pallet fork attachment with a single fork on it. You can whup the heavy stuff of the track frame in a hurry with that tool.

moriboy

Occupation
Machine shop owner