1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Cat d series memory

Discussion in 'Compact Track/Multi Terrain Loaders' started by AO299D, Dec 26, 2020.

Tags:
  1. AO299D

    AO299D Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Ontario
    Is there like a CMOS battery in the machine ECM of a d-series skid steer every time high crank till battery dead it resets a few of the preventive maintenance timers and sometimes it says 8 volt DC low and don't even pick up the engine rpm. Seems u have to start it a few time then let it sit for 10 15 minutes then start it then everything works.
     
  2. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17,069
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    The 8V DC is generated inside the ECM. It is the stabilized power used for things like the Throttle Position Sensor (amongst others).

    There is no replaceable CMOS battery inside the ECM as there was many years ago in machines of a much older generation.

    it might be a silly question but why do you have to run the battery down so far getting it to start in the first place.?
    Do you know if the air intake heater is working.?
     
  3. AO299D

    AO299D Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Ontario
    Yes I have to put a new battery on it but it would be interesting to know why it does that on just machines.
     
  4. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17,069
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    At the risk of repeating - does your air intake heater work..?
    Without it starting in your neck of the woods in the depths of winter would be "troublesome" to say the least.

    What grade of engine oil do you use in it.?
     
  5. AO299D

    AO299D Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Ontario
    I guess I'm not sure but I can have it inside where it's relevantly warm and it only cranks for a couple seconds and it always starts fine when I have battery charged it's just after a few days sitting that it won't start.
     
  6. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17,069
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    This is the machine S/N DX200752 I assume..?
    This is what the air intake heater should look like, #8 on the illustration below. First find it, then you have to figure out if it is working or not. We'll get to that later. Look for the electrical connection, circled in red.

    The fact you say - "I can have it inside where it's relevantly warm and it only cranks for a couple seconds and it always starts fine" - leads me to believe the heater may not be working. it could be nothing more than a dodgy relay. Without looking up the heater logic I suspect it will be activated based on a signal from the coolant temperature sensor.

    upload_2020-12-26_21-38-21.png
     
  7. AO299D

    AO299D Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Ontario
    So is there a trick to test that part without putting it out in the cold ?
     
  8. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17,069
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    See if you have one first, then we'll figure out how it works.
     
  9. AO299D

    AO299D Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Ontario
    This is actually a glow plug engine FTK00623.
     
  10. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17,069
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    Glow plugs or air intake heater, it still works the same way. The signal to pull in the coil for the glow plug relay comes from the ECM. So my bet is that it works from the coolant temperature. A question: - Does the coolant temp gauge on the dash indicate correctly.? If not it could be that the glow plug circuit is fine, it's just not getting the right signal when to fire off.

    The resistance on each glow plug between the terminal on top and the body should be 0.95 ohms.

    Simple way to check the glow plug relay #13A is to swap it for the start relay #13. They are the same Part Number. If the engine still starts then the relay is fine. See attachment.
     

    Attached Files:

    Simon C and Mother Deuce like this.