• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Cat 955H Seat Replacement

spikesantee

Greetings!

I went out on a limb and bought a Cat 955H track loader. So far, so good. It runs good and does what I want. However, it needs a little work.

This is a picture of what I got for a seat.

IMG_5501.jpg

To be fair to the seller, he had a boat seat sitting on this frame. I removed the frame and gave it a hydrolysis bath to remove the rust so the seat could articulate back and forth.

IMG_5775.jpg

This worked very well; look at all of the rusty-colored foam on the tank's surface. I've never done hydrolysis before. It's easy, and I plan to tackle a bunch of other rusty things around the place.

IMG_5811.jpg

I got the seat from WWW.FINNEYPARTS.COM. The service rep knew exactly what I needed. It showed up in three days.

IMG_5815.jpg

It looks like a factory original when installed. The nice thing is the seat moves back and forth very easily, giving me a variety of settings. This was a big improvement because the temporary seat was down too low to see what I was doing.

Now, I need to learn how to drive this thing.

Best wishes.

CM1995

Administrator
Occupation
Running what I brung and taking what I win
Welcome to the Forums spikes! Glad to have you.

Driven by Finney Parts many, many times. They are located across from our main Cat dealers HQ.

Nige

G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
Now, I need to learn how to drive this thing.