• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Cat 420D

HandLogger

Occupation
Forest Land Management
I've got an opportunity to purchase a CAT 420D, but I don't know what to look for when I inspect it. The unit is an '02 model, with low hours: 422. I don't know much more than that right now, but I'd like to know more about what to look for when I get there. I haven't operated a backhoe loader since I was a much younger man -- my Dad was a dairy farmer -- so I feel like a real rookie now. Regardless, I never actually did any mechanical repairs on his machine, so I guess I am a rookie when it comes to buying one of my own. :eek:

Knocking, smoking, tire condition, leaks, the electrical system and overall appearance seem simple enough to inspect, but the more technical issues -- like pins and bushings -- are not something I have any experience with. I've got a narrow window of time to look at the machine, so I'd really appreciate any helpful advice you might be able to give me. By the way, I fully understand that operating a machine and working on one are two entirely different things, so please feel free to school me as much as you care to ... I'm all eyes ;)

Thanks very much for your time and your consideration ... :)

pwrstroke6john

with a machine with only 422 hrs. there shouldnt be many problems at all, its practically new. When I purchased my 01 fermec(terex) 760 it had 180 hrs. and i pretty much got a new machine for a lot less. If the machine was an owner/operator, which by the hours it might be they are usually well cared for. good luck

HandLogger

Occupation
Forest Land Management
Thanks John,