1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

cat 3412

Discussion in 'Generators/Gensets' started by dchevak, Nov 9, 2015.

  1. dchevak

    dchevak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Chevak Alaska
    Hi there I am getting 2 generators for my shop 12 x16 and would like to use these generators for backup power cat 3412 700kw and a cat d342 cat they where running when removed does anyone have any experience in these I want to Check them out without breaking stuff and causing me more work and determin what I need I can send pics I was thinking of using the d342 for my truck but I just want to make sure when they took them off line I still need to get them first but what should I look for before I even get started I know gas can turn to varnish and was wondering if I should or able to manualy pump fresh diesel in the system and put oil in the pistons before I try and turn it over
     
  2. Scrub Puller

    Scrub Puller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Gladstone Queensland Australia
    Yair . . .

    dchevak. Man they are some gen. sets for back-up in a shop!

    The D342 is slow revving engine quite unsuitable for a truck.

    As far as getting them going check for free movement of rack and linkages, check all fluids and bar them by hand or bump them over on the starter several revolutions . . . if possible spin up oil pressure before admitting fuel, they may even have a hand pump.

    I always like to disconnect the air intake and have a piece of plywood handy in case there are any issues with the governors. The 3412 may be fitted with a Woodward which may have an oil level plug but most probably will be topped up from the sump.

    You really need to get operators manuals but I am sure others will chime in here with some good advice.

    Cheers.
     
  3. dchevak

    dchevak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Chevak Alaska
    Yea I have the manual for the d342 but not the 3412 I understnd the basics and alll and glad you came by and said anything I live in Chevak Alaska and google mp it you will see no road in or out I have to have everything flown in I pay 6.50 a gallon of fuel and I charge out the butt just to break even
     
  4. dchevak

    dchevak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Chevak Alaska
    Yea I have the manual for the d342 but not the 3412 I understnd the basics and alll and glad you came by and said anything I live in Chevak Alaska and google mp it you will see no road in or out I have to have everything flown in I pay 6.50 a gallon of fuel and I charge out the butt just to break even
     
  5. dchevak

    dchevak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Chevak Alaska
    sorry guys I am a 50 year old hillbilly that lives in the open there are no trees nothing I make mine by the skin of my teeth but wont stop just need a little guidence so I dont have to spend more then I can afford I can by a used 6.5 diesel from florida and will coast me $5,000 grand to send it shipping kills me!!!
     
  6. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    13,872
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    Approximately how much electrical load do you have in your shop..? The reason I ask is that a 3412 genset will pump out somewhere in the region of 550-750Kw of electrical power depending on specification. It seems to me that's an awful lot of power consumption for a shop that's not exactly large.
    As a rule of thumb a genset should always be pumping out at least 40% of its rated power which would be 220-300Kw in the example above. Any less than that is inviting engine problems due to the low load.
     
  7. dchevak

    dchevak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Chevak Alaska
    well I need to get you guys some pics so you can see what I am talking about for one thing I think the 3412 is missing the controller for the generator that has nothing to do with getting it running but does to geting it working
     
  8. kshansen

    kshansen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    7,813
    Occupation:
    Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
    Location:
    Central New York, USA
    As Nige said using too big a genset will not be good for the life of the engine powering it. Have you looked into how much load you are going to be using? What other than lights and an air-compressor runs of the power in this shop?
     
  9. oarwhat

    oarwhat Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Location:
    buffalo,n.y.
    I can't even imagine what it would cost to have those delivered by air!!!
     
  10. dchevak

    dchevak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Chevak Alaska
    well this is an issue I never thought about everyone I have talked to said to get 2 to 3 time your power consumption because you will always run into needing more power I understand I am talking about a large gen set I could probably power 50 house and my shop for one thing I would like to get them running again and I cant afford 30 to 50 gallons of diesel at 6.50 a gallon I will be ether rebuilding to sell off for a more econmocal gen set or trying to use them in a differnt manner like truck boat or like I said sell off I am intersted in getting them going again so I can make a decision on what to do with them like I said in earlyer post I think the 3412 is missing the panel controller they where set up with each other to run a small village the d342 has no generator just the engine
     
  11. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    13,872
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    To be honest something in the 100KW range would probably be more than what you need to allow for increasing usage over time. Something around 700KW was just overkill.
    The 3412 will burn around 50 gallons of diesel an hour at full rated load and about 35 gallons an hour at 35% load
     
  12. Mobiltech

    Mobiltech Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Self employed Heavy duty mechanic
    Location:
    Sask.
    Is your shop really 12x16 or is it 120 x160?
     
  13. kshansen

    kshansen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    7,813
    Occupation:
    Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
    Location:
    Central New York, USA
    Or are we talking meters?

    One more thought off the top of my head, what ever genset you end up using have you considered using the heat in the coolant as heat for the shop? You are paying big bucks for the fuel and it would be crazy to just push that heat out of the radiator into the air outside the shop then have to spend money for more fuel to run a heater in the shop or need to run a larger less efficient generator to power an electric heater.
     
  14. dchevak

    dchevak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Chevak Alaska
    yea sorry to say my shop is 12 foot by 16 foot I hve a 14 x 40 lathe 2 large drill presses 1 cnc milling machine welders and plasma cutters grinders and such
     
  15. Scrub Puller

    Scrub Puller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Gladstone Queensland Australia
    Yair . . .

    dchevak

    ??????????????????? It must be a bloody tardus mate . . . bigger on the inside than the outside like the phone-box in Dr Who.

    Cheers.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2015
  16. dchevak

    dchevak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Chevak Alaska
    How do we post pics on here
     
  17. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    13,872
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    You could power a couple of dozen shops that size with a 3412 without even breaking a sweat......

    To post photos look at the line of icons above where you type the text to reply to a post. If you hover your mouse over the 4th from the right a message "insert image" will appear. Click that and follow the menu, it's relatively simple.
     
  18. dchevak

    dchevak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Chevak Alaska
    IMG_20151107_133756.jpg IMG_20151107_133829.jpg IMG_20151107_134056.jpg IMG_20151107_133906.jpg
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2015
  19. dchevak

    dchevak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Chevak Alaska
    Thanks these are from the Chevak power plant running when removed
     
  20. Scrub Puller

    Scrub Puller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Gladstone Queensland Australia
    Yair . . .

    Unfortunately they're a long way from running now.

    The generator will need drying and testing and, at best, control gear and panels . . . most likely a rewind, you can't let that sort of gear sit out in the weather.

    It also looks like the 3412 was hooked into some heat exchanger system and will need a radiator and fan . . . a bit hard to see the configuration of the D342.

    Big bucks to get them running . . . possible but is it worth the bother?

    Cheers.
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2015