1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

CAT 323 No throttle response - high idle

Discussion in 'Excavators' started by Jaxosm, Jun 14, 2021.

  1. Jaxosm

    Jaxosm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Namibia
    Hi there

    I have a CAT 323. She was sitting for 2 weeks. Was working great. Today when we started her,
    the engine was running fast. Tried to turn the speed dial, with no result. The display shows the
    dial speed, but the engine is running at one speed. If I look at the computer it reads engine speed 8,
    instead of 1.

    The one error I get is 39:2256 -3/8. (Pump output sensor pressure). Where is this sensor located?

    All fuses are good. I did notice that the hydraulic oil is low. Will add more oil tomorrow.

    Any suggestion are welcome.

    Regards
     
  2. DEMLONE70

    DEMLONE70 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    Belgium
    Serial number ?
     
    Vetech63 likes this.
  3. Jaxosm

    Jaxosm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Namibia
    SN *CAT0323DVSDC00803*
     
  4. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18,398
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    By any chance were your Codes 039:2265-3 and 039:2265-8.? These are the Codes for Pump Pressure Sensor #1
    2256 makes no sense, there is no 2256 Code on your machine.
    Here are the Troubleshooting procedures for the two Codes.
    The #1 and #2 sensors are both in the same location #34 as shown below. The wires for the two sensors are different colours, so look for the sensor with yellow/black/green wires to it. That is #1. (The wires are yellow/black/yellow for sensor #2.)
    If you want a copy of the electrical schematic please ask.

    upload_2021-6-15_15-8-31.png

    upload_2021-6-15_15-12-5.png
     

    Attached Files:

  5. heymccall

    heymccall Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,940
    Location:
    White Oak, Pa
    Could the throttle issue be that someone has inadvertently placed the system in "override"? Many times the toggle switch gets bumped with a thermos or hardhat.
    I'd think there would be a code for that, but, I just don't recall.
     
    Tarhe Driver likes this.
  6. Jaxosm

    Jaxosm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Namibia
    Hi all
    The error was CID 2265 FMI 3/8. And it makes no sense to me either.
    If I go into the maintenance display it reads engine speed 8. If I turn the speed dial it goes from 1-10 as you turn it.
    I did fill up the system to the top line with hydraulic oil. I replaced the filters 1 month ago.
    Thanks for the pics and pdf's.

    Where is this toggle switch for the override?
     
  7. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18,398
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    Did you manage to locate the sensors and at minimum check connector condition or look for wiring damage.?
     
  8. Jaxosm

    Jaxosm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Namibia
    Hi there
    I'll check those out today.
    Please send me the electrical schematic.

    Thanks
     
  9. Jaxosm

    Jaxosm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Namibia
    Hi all

    Thanks for all the help.
    Today I saw another error message 39:190-8
    @Nige if you could please send me those electric diagrams it would be great.

    BUT, I got the problem fixed. @heymccall you were correct. It was the override switch..

    Regards
     
    Tarhe Driver likes this.
  10. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18,398
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    Check your messages. I sent you the schematic earlier today.

    I’ll look up the troubleshooting procedure for the 190-8 Code and post it.
     
  11. heymccall

    heymccall Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,940
    Location:
    White Oak, Pa
    190 is "engine overspeed" warning.
    Possibly related to be in "override".
     
  12. Jaxosm

    Jaxosm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Namibia
  13. heymccall

    heymccall Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,940
    Location:
    White Oak, Pa
    I had no idea where the override switches are, as I dont have a 323D. Where are they situated?
     
  14. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18,398
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    #4 - RH console
    #3 is the Automatic Engine Speed Control switch

    upload_2021-6-16_21-14-11.png
     
  15. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18,398
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    190-08 troubleshooting procedure attached. It's actually a weird frequency signal from the engine speed sensor. Could be nothing more than dirt/metallic particles on the business end of the sensor.
     

    Attached Files: