• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

cat 299d xhp vs terex pt110 forestry

Chain Rated

cat 299d xhp vs terex pt110 forestry .
I'm trying to decide between these two machines for mostly land clearing jobs. I'm brand new to this Industry and I'm assuming that's most of what I'll be doing in my area. Please give opinions, facts and your experience with these machines. All advice is appreciated.

jaclo

Hi chain.

We are proud owners of a 289D, and less proud owners of a New Holland C238.

First I'll talk about the cat.

This is our third Cat skid loader. All we've ever done to them is check the fluids, grease them, and go to work. They have spent most of their lives in the dirt, are put in the shop during the winter when not in use, and have made us a nice bit of $$$. We baby them, and they in turn hold their value. We had a hydraulic hose on our 279C get a hole rubbed in it towards the thousand-hour mark, but other than that no issues. All in all they have been great machines for what we use them for. I really really like the backup camera. Highly recommend if you go caterpillar. Not sure if it is an option on terex/NH