• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

CAT 279C forward and rearward motion slows to a creep

timmonsg

Hi all, please be nice as this is my first post on this site. I'm new to operating a CAT 279C with 5k current hours. Regardless which of the two speeds used, my machine slows down tremendously after only moving 10 to 20 yards. Engine RPM remains at the level set. Speed is set to max 10 MPH. I'm running a CID brushcutter that continues to run at operating RPM when this slowdown happens. Once I return the left joystick to the center neutral position and reapply forward or rearward direction, the machine appears to return to the speed desired only for another 10 to 20 yards before the slowdown in groundspeed begins until it comes to a halt/ creep. checked all fluid levels and all are maxed. filters appear newly serviced but could not tell you of the exact date or hour level changed. doesnt take long before the coolant and hyd temp starts to run in the upper one-third range. just spent $2500 on the AC with no good cooling results. speed sensor harnesses were replaced due to being frayed. first 5 to 6 hours of running on the job with these repairs done by the dealership were flawless. i hope i have not confused. Thanks again as im just looking for some hope. Greg (37-year Army Aviator Veteran recently retired)

Mark250

Occupation
heavy equipment technician
Can you check to see if the demand fan slows down at the same time as the machine speed slows down ? this will give a rough idea if the charge pressure is ok
sounds like hydro filter is plugged