• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Case 590Turbo engine problem

rpyne

We have an older 590Turbo with a Cummins 4T390 engine that died while we were using it a while back. In trying to diagnose the problem, I pulled the front valve cover and it looks like the camshaft isn't turning though the starter does crank the engine.

How hosed is it? Is that a zero clearance engine or is there a chance that it isn't going to require a major overhaul. It has 6450 hours on it, it had 6356 when we bought it, they told us it had an in-frame overhaul at about 5000 hours.

I'm not an experienced mechanic but can handle most things with good instructions and manual. I have the Service Manual and Parts Manual for the backhoe.

Any insights, help, or advice will be much appreciated.

1466IH

Pull the round cover off in front of the injection pump and see if that is all still turning. Been a while since I have been in one of those engines but I do believe they are an interference engine chances are though all it would have done is bent push rods though

rpyne

Pull the round cover off in front of the injection pump and see if that is all still turning. Been a while since I have been in one of those engines but I do believe they are an interference engine chances are though all it would have done is bent push rods though

Dumb question time, how does that cover come off? is it threaded on or press fit?

rpyne

Thank you.