1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Case 580sle

Discussion in 'Tractor/Loader/Backhoes' started by Aussiemac, Aug 25, 2022.

  1. Aussiemac

    Aussiemac Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi everyone from Australia. New forum member, long time follower. There is a lot of great information on here and some masters of case backhoes so I though I would ask for some help.
    My grandfather has a 580sle powershift model 1999 year. Rough but ready sort of machine. It does all it should except go forward or backward. I purchased a manual and between it and reading on here I am thinking it comes down to the time delay relay. The control lever checks out ok, but you only get n1 on the powershift display on the unit which questions whether the contacts are giving the signal to change direction or if the lever goes to the time delay relay then to the fwd/rev solenoids and the display then changes? Also is there a way to test the time delay relay? At $230 from interstate I’d hate to wait a week after paying that to find out it didn’t work for the old fella. I don’t want it to cost him any more than it needs to. Other than that I believe it is electrical as when you push the de clutch button on the loader control you get a clunk and the rear wheels turn backwards. Any help is good help, thanks everyone.
     
  2. Aussiemac

    Aussiemac Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Australia
    Nobody has any ideas?
     
  3. Tinkerer

    Tinkerer Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,272
    Location:
    The shore of the illinois river USA
    I don't. Sorry.
     
  4. alrman

    alrman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,107
    Occupation:
    Diesel Fitter;Small Business Owner;Cleaner
    Location:
    QLD Australia
    Diagnosing 580SLE powershift problems is bad enough in person let alone over the internet.
    Yes, Could be the time delay relay, could be other things too. I carry a spare for this type of situation.
    Does the manual you bought explain how to put the computer into test mode - so so can check the module's input & output signals?

    Is "T" light flashing on the screen? If so long hold the M button for 2 seconds & take a pic of the hieroglyphic display - it is a code for the fault type.

    Oil level is good? Oil level drops when engine is started?
    What part of Australia?
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2022
    Tinkerer likes this.
  5. Aussiemac

    Aussiemac Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Australia
    I could imagine it being a headache to diagnose even with a background in case equipment. I’m just starting out with case but have done quite a bit with John Deere and other farm equipment. Oil levels are all good, I haven’t tested any pressures yet figured I’d work through the electrical side as I think that’s where the gremlins lie.
    Sorry the manual doesn’t have a test mode section but when I hold the powershift module button I get a diagnostic page the lcd reads di oc. Cycling through, I can choose from SL SP GP. Which I believe is gear selection, speed, not sure what GP is. Looking through the electrical schematics, it looks like power goes first to the time delay relay, then on to the Fwd Rev relays then on to the solenoids. What I can’t work out is the lcd on the module only shows n1. Or n2,n3,n4 which I think is neutral and the gear selection. Never changes from n. The relay if you test it like any other shows oc by I’m not sure if that’s the time delay wired differently.
    I’m from North Queensland in Australia, where it’s been a rather cold winter and I am happy spring starts tomorrow!
     
  6. alrman

    alrman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,107
    Occupation:
    Diesel Fitter;Small Business Owner;Cleaner
    Location:
    QLD Australia
    I'm in Brisbane.
    HMM di oc doesn't show in the manual -di = direction (maybe) + oc = open circuit

    I mentioned the oil level just to be sure the charge pump working - seen a few broken input shafts on these.
    Because of the age on these machines - the computers are getting problems with circuit boards shorting out due to leaking capacitors.
    Thorough testing needs to be carried out before you think about the computers - BTW CNH no longer carry them.....
    Best you call me - Google is your friend.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2022
    Tinkerer likes this.
  7. Aussiemac

    Aussiemac Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh good one mate I didn’t know you were in Australia. I will have a look and get back to you.
     
  8. Aussiemac

    Aussiemac Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Australia
    So got to look at the backhoe again today. Installed a new time delay relay and got it to drive forward but not backwards. Checked the faults, get a kick down activated symbol? Also cycling the ot test I get a 2 and 5 short to ground. Also now get a do FP fault when holding the m button while running. Any direction I can look at from here?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. alrman

    alrman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,107
    Occupation:
    Diesel Fitter;Small Business Owner;Cleaner
    Location:
    QLD Australia
    Great! Half the problem is fixed.... :rolleyes:
    Does the LED screen indicate R when reverse is selected?
    The symbol I see in the pic says AWD request is activated.
    Does FP fault, when holding the M button, have any other letters with it?
     
  10. Aussiemac

    Aussiemac Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah I said I’d done my half now someone else can do reverse. Time delay relay was obviously part of the problem. Glad you talked me into buying one or I would’ve still been at square one. I don’t get an R when shifting to reverse which to me is possible computer problem or the direction control lever. Apologies it is FWD activated, I thought it was kickdown activated. Just doFP when holding the m button. Which is short to plus or open I believe.
     
  11. alrman

    alrman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,107
    Occupation:
    Diesel Fitter;Small Business Owner;Cleaner
    Location:
    QLD Australia
    Yes, with no R light I would think no signal is being sent to the computer.
    Also, doFP code would likely indicate that the computer is not receiving signal from the FNR lever either..... but don't quote me on that.
    Take a close look at the wiring harness to look for any rub spots - engage REV with engine idling (& wheels off ground) & wriggle the heck out of that loom to see if anything makes contact.
    Be sure the plug in the back of the computer is has clean contacts & firmly engaged.

    Failing that -
    You will need to check the FNR lever function & see if you can figure the reverse wire & if it is getting any power when selected.
    If no voltage is present when reverse is selected, try to bridge some wires so the reverse circuit can hopefully activate the gear selection.
    If that works - replace or dismantle the FNR lever & see if a clean up helps.
    If REV power is present or the bridging doesn't work - maybe the computer needs checking out. - nice to swap it if possible, to see if another one sorts the problem - just for that peace of mind.
     
  12. Aussiemac

    Aussiemac Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Australia
    Well I cleaned all the plugs and terminals up and did some more testing looking for a bridge and whether I’ve moved something doing that or there wasn’t a good contact but I now have all gears in fwd and rev. I checked for faults in diagnostic mode and it all checks out good. 1-8 are g, and now get a do oc when holding the manual button instead of doFP. But all in all it works and does everything it needs to. Special thanks to ALRman, your knowledge is second to none. If I’m ever down Brisbane way I’ll be sure to drop you a beer in for your help.
     
    alrman and Tinkerer like this.