• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Case 580B weak in foward and reverse

truviking

:Banghead:Banghead:BangheadI just bought a Case 580B CK backhoe and it has hardly and power in the transmission. I am new to heavy equipment but I know the basics. The machine has a hard time climbing the slightest hill or when pushing into a pile it struggles. The motor doesn't bog down ,it just keep running at the same rpm(maybe a tad bit faster) The trans oil pressure gauuge reads in the green when in gear and clutch is released. When depressed it drops in the red or zero. I Just changed the filter in front of the radiator(torque convertor filter?) and my oil levels are ok. The oil does not appear to be comtaminated. What other thing should I check and or replace? I am also having some brake issuses but I do not believe it is having any effect on the sluggish power. Any suggestions on what else may be causing this?

bigskyelliott

no reply's. im to having same problem. the strange thing is it worked good until i changed the trans fluid. let me know what you find

Phil

Occupation
retired operator and mechanic
Here's an answer Truviking, a little late, but it's here.