• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Carson Trailers

Palmer78

I was wondering if anyone has opinions on Carson equipment trailers. Today I looked at a used 9995 lb 16' trailer with pull out ramps. I am not a trailer expert but some things just didn't look right on that trailer such as:

1) Couldn't read the faded weight sticker ( I'm used to seeing stamped metal tags)
2) Brakes on the right side of the trailer didn't have any wires connected to them. Are they supposed to?
3) The frame is not one piece from the tongue to the rear. The frame for the deck is welded onto the tongue frame wich I don't really like.
4) The 2 5/16" coupler looks like probably the cheapest you can get. I see similar ones sold at Harbor Freight.
5) Overall quality looked like it could have been better. A lot of the cut steel looked rough and could have been cleaned up a little better.
6) Owner said the rear of the trailer was slightly bent from loading without setting the rear jacks to stabilize it. It was very hard to notice but it was there.

I'm sure the trailer would work fine for towing my 8000 lb mini excavator but I'm thinking I could probably find something better for the money. Does anyone have any opinions about the quality of this trailer?

Dwan Hall

Occupation
Self Employed
I would pass on any trailer I had questions about it's safety. Why would you put your toys at risk on something that may brake going down the road or may not brake for that mater. (pun intended)

Bob Horrell

Charter Member
Occupation
Owner/Operator grading business