1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Can pressurized for d10n

Discussion in 'Dozers' started by Desertwheeler, Oct 5, 2017.

  1. Desertwheeler

    Desertwheeler Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    382
    Occupation:
    Miner
    Location:
    Ca
    Does anyone know of a kit for an aftermarket pressurized for the cab? The cab has new windows and good door seals but still manages to get dirt on the wrong side of the filters. They have checked the system best they can for leaks and can't really find anything. It can get pretty bad especially since no one blows the cab out or the AC system on a regular basis. I'm trying to find some info on an aftermarket kit to help eliminate this problem. I have searched some but can't find anything specific to a d10n.
     
  2. DMiller

    DMiller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5,940
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Hermann, Missouri
    Will always be some dirt intrusion if AC draws from outside. The main fact is cooling the air inside makes a lower pressure as outside, as it is opened and closed(doors) it will draw dust. Nature
     
  3. JS300

    JS300 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    455
    Occupation:
    Power Plant and Cattle
    Location:
    Texas
    Awhile back I looked into cabaire pressurizers which is made by engineaire. They have several different set ups. They had some that do constant monitoring with a display. They claimed no dust.
     
  4. Cmark

    Cmark Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,110
    Location:
    Australia
    A few years ago I modified a D9R by installing an external pressuriser from a late model D11. Does your machine have the A/C unit on the left side of the cab just behind the door? If it does I can try and look back in my notes for some part numbers if you like.
     
  5. Desertwheeler

    Desertwheeler Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    382
    Occupation:
    Miner
    Location:
    Ca
    Yes the ac is behind the door on the left side. That would be cool that way I can pass it along and see if they want to do anything or not.
     
  6. Cmark

    Cmark Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,110
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok. My notes tell me we bought a 1547111 pressurizer gp. We mounted it on the top of the A/C box and I seem to think we cut a hole in the top for the air flow, or maybe there was already a hole there covered by a blanking plate, not sure. I remember there was just enough room to allow the cab door to still open. I'm thinking that that is a pure recirculation type system with no fresh air inlet, but if it does have one it should be blanked off as the pressurizer has its own air filter. And that's it. Hook up the 24V to the blower motor and Bob's your aunties live-in lover.
     
  7. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    12,309
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    The same Part Number ia available in the Custom Parts Manual for D10R. there is also another Part Number 232-1301 that is for later-model D10R and is the subject of a Special instruction REHS1698 for installation. The kit includes wiring harnesses, relay, etc, etc. There is also a pressure indicator that can be used to make sure the cab is actually pressurizing when all the doors are closed.

    What we've done on a lot of our kit is to deactivate the recirc option so that the only way the aircon can function is by sucking fresh air in from outside. The downside of that is that the external cab filter has to be top-notch and serviced regularly
     
  8. Cmark

    Cmark Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,110
    Location:
    Australia
    We looked at that kit but it was more than double the cost and the ROPS didn't have the appropriate bosses to bolt to.

    You're right about maintaining the air filter. I went out to the same machine recently and the cab was full of dust again. The operator said the blower wasn't working. I found the motor seized and the air filter can completely blocked with dust. Operator said he didn't even know there was a filter there.
     
    DMiller likes this.
  9. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    12,309
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    Operators, don't you just love 'em...?
    The upside of it is that itheir incompetence keeps maintenance people in a job.
     
    DMiller, DARO and old-iron-habit like this.
  10. Desertwheeler

    Desertwheeler Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    382
    Occupation:
    Miner
    Location:
    Ca
    Haha yeah it never fails. I will pass that part number along. I doubt it would be too difficult to retrofit it. I have a pet peeve about clean cabs and cleaning cab filters, especially since it can be 115 outside and that AC is getting a workout.
     
  11. DMiller

    DMiller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5,940
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Hermann, Missouri
    Won't fix stupid guys, I have beaten my head on that wall many times and all it does is leave a bruise!!