• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

CA contractors license questions

dirtbikedude

Hi guys,

I have some questions about getting my contractors license

I want to get my General Building Contractor license as well as my C-21 Demolition/ building moving license.

I have 10 years experience as a foreman for a General Building Contractor so I qualify for the examination be waived for the B license

Once I obtain my General Building Contractor license I would like to add the C-21 classification to my license.

With my experience above am I also exempt from taking the C-21 trade test?

LT-x7

Occupation
Earth Moving Contractor
All the info here http://www.cslb.ca.gov/Contractors/..._Application/Before_Applying_For_License.aspx

As far as I see (& remember) the only way around the examination is the waiver to carry on a family business.

The way I understand it you need 4 years of full time experience within the last 10 years in the trade your going for to qualify to take the test. So if you can show 4 years experience doing general work, then another 4 doing demo I would think you would qualify for both.

On a side note, if you have a general "B" license the law says to legally take a contract if must contain 2 unrelated trades or crafts not including carpentry. The way I see it demo typically includes unhooking utility's (plumbing, electrical) demo, and grading when your done. Looks like more than 2 trades to me, and I would make sure to include the different trades in the contact.

dirtbikedude

thanks for the response, on the application it says there are waivers listed in the B&P Code Sections 7065.1-